Homemade Marshmallows

December 25, 2007 at 2:21 am | Posted in Dessert | 4 Comments
Tags:

My friend Mary introduced me to these fun and foolproof Homemade Marshmallows. I made two batches the other day. The first batch I kept plain and the other I dipped in dark chocolate and then sprinkled with pistachios.

dsc_0008-small.jpg

The recipe is from Ina Garten, the Barefoot Contessa.
3 packages unflavored gelatin
1 ½ cups granulated sugar
1 cup light corn syrup
¼ teaspoon kosher salt (regular is fine too)
1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract
Confectioners’ sugar, for dusting

Combine the gelatin and 1/2 cup of cold water in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the whisk attachment and allow to sit while you make the syrup.

Meanwhile, combine the sugar, corn syrup, salt, and 1/2 cup water in a small saucepan and cook over medium heat until the sugar dissolves. Raise the heat to high and cook until the syrup reaches 240 degrees F on a candy thermometer*. Remove from the heat.

With the mixer on low speed, slowly pour the sugar syrup into the dissolved gelatin. Put the mixer on high speed and whip until the mixture is very thick, about 15 minutes. Add the vanilla and mix thoroughly.

With a sieve, generously dust an 8×12” nonmetal baking dish** with confectioners’ sugar. Pour the marshmallow mixture into the pan, smooth the top, and dust with more confectioners’ sugar. Allow to stand uncovered overnight until it dries out.

Turn the marshmallows onto a board and cut them into squares. Dust the sides with more confectioners’ sugar***. Store in an airtight container on the counter.

* I couldn’t find my candy thermometer, so Mary suggested I get the sugar mixture to boiling and then boil for an additional 5 minutes. Both batches were great.

**I only had one glass pan available, so I took an aluminum pan, lined it with waxed paper, and then generously sprinkled with powdered sugar. It worked terrific.

***After the marshmallows were dusted with powdered sugar on all sides, I melted some dark chocolate in a glass bowl over simmering water (my version of a double boiler). Then I dipped half the marshmallow in the melted chocolate and then sprinkled with chopped pistachios. Lay on waxed paper to cool and dry.

dsc_0009-small.jpg

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. It’s marshmallow time! They tasted like little chunks of heavenly clouds.

    Mm! Night Kar’!

  2. These do look really good. I’ve never made marshmallows before but they are on my *todo* list

  3. Everyone talks about how theirs makes so much batter. I can’t seem to get enough batter to make these very thick. I have tried these three times with same results every time. Have to make the recipe twice in order to have enough to look right.
    any suggestions would be appreciated.

  4. Margaret, that is strange. The only time I’ve had a problem with this recipe was when I forgot to add the 1/2 cup of water to the sugar/corn starch solution on the stove. A candy thermometer really helps too.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

