Love Language

February 3, 2008 at 9:58 am | Posted in Cupcakes, Dessert | 11 Comments
Tags: ,
assorted-cupcakes-pp.jpg

My dear daughter loves to draw. Probably more than I like baking, which is a lot. Everyday she sits and colors, creating wonderful pictures, cards, and various art projects for her friends and family. And it just dawned on me that this is her love language. This is one of the ways she lets us know that she loves us. Now I make every effort to sit and color with her, giving her some of my own drawings. I channel my inner 5 year old and draw rainbows, hearts, flowers and people for her.

So I was thrilled when she asked to bake something with me. We do bake something together just about every week, but when she asked that baking be our “Girl Time” activity, I was so touched. Oh, we colored too, played tea party with her stuffed animals, and indulged on these Cherry Chip Cupcakes.

cherry-cupcakes-pp.jpg

In the cupboard I had a Betty Crocker Cherry Chip cake mix and some Pink Cherry frosting. I dusted off my heart shaped cupcake pan, found the valentine sprinkles, and pulled my Cupcakes from the Cake Doctor cookbook.

Here’s Anne Byrn’s recipe for The Best Birthday Cupcakes.

  • 1 package cake mix
  • 1 package cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 t vanilla extract

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Line cupcake pan with paper liners. Place the cake mix, cream cheese, sugar, water, oil, eggs, and vanilla in a large mixing bowl. Blend on low speed for 30 seconds, scrape the bowl, and then mix on medium speed for 2 minutes. Scoop the batter into paper cupcake liners and bake for 24-27 minutes. Cool completely.

For the frosting: With the Betty Crocker Pink Cherry frosting I put some of it in a plastic bag, microwaved it until very soft, snipped the corner, and let my daughter decorate her heart shaped cupcakes.

hannah-heart-cupcake-pp.jpg

I also made a quick batch of regular frosting:

  • 1 package softened cream cheese
  • 1 stick of softened unsalted butter
  • 1 box of powdered sugar
  • 1 t vanilla

I spooned out half of the frosting and put in a plastic bag, keeping it white. To the remaining frosting I added about 2 T of maraschino cherry juice and a little pink food coloring, mixed, and then spooned into another plastic bag.

sprinkle-cupcakes-pp.jpg
11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Those are beautiful cupcakes! Very Vslentine’s Day inspired. :)

  2. I thought the pictures of the cupcakes were sweet until I read your write-up! Praise the Lord for daughters!!

  3. Now I want to make sweet pink cupcakes!

  4. Oh, I just love your cupcakes! I love tweeking the cake mixes, I’ve had some of the best cakes and cupcakes from them. I’ll definately be trying this recipe.

    How fun to do that “girly” stuff with your daughter. My 2 year old son is stuck cooking with mommy!

  5. The cupcakes are so pretty! Your daughter sounds so sweet! Definitely keep encouraging her in drawing. It’s a great thing to start young.If she keeps it up she’ll be a da vinci in no time! Drawing and baking are my two favorite things to do. =3

  6. The above comment by Sewcrazy4fashion was by me. Once again, I forgot I was logged in as my older sister. LOL! I really need to stop doing that.

  7. Beautiful Cupcakes!

  8. Your pictures are great! Loving them!

  9. So impressed with not only your baking, but also your photography skills. I’m jealous of both. Those cupcakes are so cute!

  10. I’m simply speechless. They look adorable. Simply beautiful :-D

  11. Gorgeous photos! My favorite is the heart cupcake, obviously your daughter is following in your footsteps ;)


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

