She’s having a baby Meringues!

February 26, 2008 at 2:33 pm | Posted in Dessert, essay | 10 Comments
Tags: ,
meringue-plate-sm.jpg

My little sister is expecting her first baby in the fall! I am so excited to meet my little niece or nephew. So excited in fact that I’ve been searching Gymboree and Janie and Jack for cute newborn outfits. I’ve browsed Pottery Barn Kids‘ selection of nursery items. And baby shower food keeps running through my brain.

I think these Meringue Kisses are the quintessential baby shower food. They are light, airy and crispy. Slightly sweet with a hint of flavoring…they are so cute stacked on the dessert table. Add the strawberry extract and lots of pink food coloring if expecting a girl!

meringue-tray-sm.jpg

Meringue Kisses

  • 3 egg whites at room temp
  • 1/4 t cream of tartar
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 t vanilla extract (or strawberry extract)
  • 1-3 drops of red food coloring (depending on how pink you want these)

Preheat oven to 200 degrees. Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper or silpats. Beat egg whites on medium speed until foamy. Add cream of tartar. Increase speed to high and continue beating until soft peaks form. Gradually add sugar beating until stiff peaks form. Mix in extract and food coloring.

Spoon meringue into pastry bag. Bake for 3 hours or until dry and crisp. Cool on baking sheets. Store in airtight container at room temperature. Can be made the day ahead.

From Semi-Homemade Desserts by Sandra Lee

I’m having so much fun in manual mode that I had to share these photos as well.

The single meringue

meringue-single-sm.jpg

And the triple shot

meringue-triple-sm.jpg
10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You didn’t tell me this great news! How fun!!! Please pass on my congrats.

  2. So cute! Wish you would have thought of those last October ;)

  3. I LOVE the shapes! When I made meringues, I just sort of blobbed them on the cookie sheet, for lack of pastry bag with a big enough tip. Yours are so pretty! Sounds yummy with the strawberry favloring.
    Congrats to your sister! That’s so exciting!

  4. Those meringues are so pretty. I like the pinkest color. Do you already have blue ones made for if she has a boy?

  5. I love meringue cookies. I add chocolate chips to mine but strawberry extract sounds wonderful, ahhh, we could combine flavors and have
    *Chocolate Dipped Strawberry Meringue Cookies*
    O.K. enough rambling,
    Congrats on the new member to the family!

  6. Ohmigosh! Chocolate dipped strawberry meringues? that sounds so good. Someone has to make those for me!

  7. Megan- Genius! Great idea!

  8. Since my comment was lost…thought I’d add another :). These remind me of my baby shower…and so perfect for a little girl with the pink. I also like your pics…I’ll say it again, once you go manual, you never go back! Great job.

  9. woah!! this is a nice recipe and easy to make… my mouth is already watering… adding some choco bites to it will add up to the taste… thanks for sharing… :)

  10. [...] in back on the left is my hubby, me, my mom, dad, aunt, uncle, (gorgeous and expecting) sister, brother in law, and brother. Then in the front row is my daughter, son, grandfather, grandmother, [...]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

