Strawberry Pommelo Granita

April 7, 2008 at 7:41 pm | Posted in Dessert | 14 Comments

We stopped by our local farmers market on Sunday after church and found a pommelo! Bigger and sweeter than a grapefruit, and begging to be brought home along with our fresh strawberries.

With these simple ingredients I whipped up a refreshingly tasty dessert. It’s like an icee for adults (but kids like it too).

Strawberry Pommelo Granita (adapted from Epicurious)

1 3/4 cups hulled strawberries

1/2 cup fresh pommelo juice

3/4 cup sugar

3/4 cup cold water

Puree strawberries, pommelo juice, sugar and water in a processor until smooth. Strain into an 8×8 baking pan. Cover and place in the freezer. Stir with a fork every hour until frozen, about 4 hours. Store in the freezer. Can be made up to 2 days ahead. Garnish with whipped

I can’t decide if it’s better in the glass jar or grapefruit…

…decisions, decisions…

I am submitting this dessert to Abby at Eat the Right Stuff for this month’s Monthly Mingle: Spring Fruit Sensations.



14 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. i think your granita would look best on a spoon, headed straight for my mouth. i’ve never had a pommelo, but now i want one immediately. looks like i could do some weightlifting with it before it gets eaten. :)

  2. I love pomelos! Easily favorite fruit. I never thought of turning them into something like this. Thanks for the inspiration.

  3. That looks so refreshing and delicious! I have to try those pommelos, and soon.

  4. What a pretty dessert! It looks so summery and refreshing. Putting it in the pommelo is so creative and cute but it does look good in the jar, too…

  5. Now I am so curious…I thought pommelo was just how some called the grapefruit in spanish. But maybe it is a different fruit. Maybe we have it, but maybe not. Confused.

    Oh well, I will have to just make this with fruits I have here. Too bad you didn’t post this a couple months ago in the sweltering summer heat…now the cold is coming and I will have to wait until next summer.

    Nevertheless, the granita in the skin is ADORABLE!

    (sorry my English sounds bad this morning…) :)

  6. Wow, this looks so refreshing and delicious. A wonderful choice!

  7. I have actually never had a pommelo, but I saw some at the store the other day and bought 2 of them! I should try this out with one of them!

  8. Grace- this was a big one!

    Cookie- I really like this citrus fruit too! Great straight!

    Elle, Recipe Girl, Deborah, Colette- Thanks for the comments!

    Gretchen- LOL! You always put a smile on my face!

  9. So summery! I love the photo of the granita in the grapefruit.

  10. Haha what a cute container!

  11. that is so pretty! ive never had a pommelo!

  12. Ok, I made this today. Oh yum, it was great, and looked just like your picture! Thanks for the recipe!

  13. My my, Karen, this looks SO fabulous! Thanks so much for posting this =) I, like everyone else, is so excited to try it out soon! And I loove the pictures of your little boy. Thanks so much for sharing him with us <3

    Happy Friday!

  14. Ah that looks so refreshing sweet and delicious. I love how it looks in the grapefruit. Fantastic creation!!!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

