We Got the Beet

April 10, 2008 at 8:15 pm | Posted in beet puree | 16 Comments

My childhood introduced me to canned beets, disgusting! I remember my father eating them…all slimy with that weird taste and texture. I didn’t even like the smell.

But in my efforts to do better, I have returned to the beet. First was the Beet Pancakes. Since then I’ve been uninspired to try again. That is until I borrowed my sister’s copy of Bon Appetit’s 50th anniversary issue from October 2006. Within was a recipe by Evan Kleiman for Beet Gnocchi with Rosemary.

Beet Gnocchi with Rosemary

  • 3/4 cup roasted beet puree
  • 1 pound fresh ricotta cheese
  • 1 large egg
  • 3/4 cup Parmesan cheese
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1 1/2 cups flour, divided
  • 1 stick unsalted butter
  • 4 fresh rosemary sprigs

Place beets in a large bowl. Stir in ricotta, eggs, cheese, salt and pepper. Mix in 1 cup of the flour. (Dough can be made one day ahead, cover and refrigerate).

Place remaining 1/2 cup flour in a bowl. Lightly dust baking sheet with flour. Using a teaspoon measure, scoop dough into rounds and transfer to bowl with flour. Then with the tinges of a fork, press down into the dough and then transfer to baking sheet. Do this in batches. (Gnocchi can be prepared 6 hours ahead. Cover and refrigerate).

Melt butter with rosemary in a large skillet over medium heat.

Working in batches, cook gnocchi in large pot of simmering salted water until gnocchi float to the surface, about 2 minutes. Continue to cook 1 1/2 minutes longer. Using a slotted spoon, transfer gnocchi to skillet with butter and rosemary.

At this point you can transfer the gnocchi to a plate and sprinkle with Parmesan cheese. I wanted a firmer gnocchi so after I finished all of the gnocchi in the butter, I put them on a plain hot skillet. The butter made a great crispy exterior.

And the verdict? My family loved them! Hubby, daughter and son! I could have easily cut this recipe in half, it makes a lot of gnocchi!

Along with our Beet Gnocchi, I wanted my family to see beets in a more natural state. So I also did a simple plate of roasted beets and carrots, some whole wheat pita bread, and a bowl of chickpea puree.

What did we think? My daughter was willing to try the beets, but did not like them. My son, no. As for my hubby and I (both non-beet eaters) were pleasantly surprised. Fresh roasted beets are good. I will be doing this again.

To roast fresh beets: Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Wrap beets in foil and roast until tender, about 1 hour. Cool and then slip skins off the beets.

16 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Impressive girl! I was not so successful with gnocchi and beet gnocchi has not yet sounded appealing. Great job with them and I am so impressed that everyone enjoyed them!

  2. WOw, I’m impressed! And your family liked it? That’s great. This is defnitely something to try.

    I grew up with a mom who put those canned beets on salad all the time. I always thought it was gross. I love beets now though. I love roasted beets in salad!

  3. Honestly, this was one that I really debated doing. It was a lot of work. I’m just glad they ate…I’ve had a few duds lately.

  4. Yum! You combined gnocchi and beets! Love it!

  5. Holy moly that looks like absolute heaven!

  6. Who couldn’t love gnocchi that is bright pink!?! I think this would be a tough recipe…but I love the color!

  7. So pretty!!

  8. We only had canned beets growing up – maybe that’s why I can’t get myself to try them again! But this looks like so much fun – I just may have to be daring and try beets again!

  9. Ohh, we actually have some beetroot in that needs eating – it must be fate! ^__^ This looks ridiculously good. And pink! One to bookmark, I think.

  10. They look so pretty! Pink is my favorite color, by far. My grandmother makes a wonderful beet soup! Other than that, I’ve never had beets and I’ve never had gnocchi. I wonder if it’s something I’d like…

  11. I’ve always wanted to make regular gnocchi but never have (yet). These are beautiful. They would be a fun Christmas or Valentines dinner too.
    Bookmarked!

  12. roasted beets = yummy. unfortunately, i just discovered how much i like them as winter veggie season was drawing to a close. i also like ‘em raw, sliced thinly over salads.

    those are the most fun looking gnocchi i’ve ever seen!

  13. I love beet salads! This beet gnocchi has me intrigued. I am going to have give this a try.

  14. I’ve never had a canned beet–maybe that’s why I love them so! This beet gnocchi looks fantastic–not only does it sound delicious to me (carbohydratey–beety) but it’s also beautiful to behold!

  15. I’m loving this idea! I’m going to try it very soon as I love roasted beets and my boyfriend has only experienced the canned variety! This may be a good way to trick him into eating beets… does that make me a bad girlfriend ;)
    Thanks for stopping by! I’m glad you got a kick out of the hair in the cake batter post, I was definitely being watched over by the baking gods that day!

  16. Ok, maybe beets and I will have another try. I remember hating them as a kid, unless they were pickled. Problem was, I never knew whether they were pickled or cooked at the dinner table until I took a bite, and invariably, they were cooked. Blech! I’ll have to give the gnocci a try…


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

