0-Hostess Cupcakes

April 22, 2008 at 6:30 am | Posted in Cupcakes | 17 Comments
Tags: , ,

The Hostess Cupcake goes organic in celebration of Earth Day!

I used Beatty’s Chocolate Cake recipe for the cupcakes. Organic (mostly) everything. The difference was I had trouble finding organic vegetable oil so I substituted for organic olive oil. These turned out much lighter than the non-organic version and they rose high.

For the filling and glaze I referred to Megans Cookin and her Mock Hostess Cupcakes. Megan, your piping and decorating skills leave me to shame!

I made regular size cupcakes and baked them for about 20 minutes. Once they had cooled completely, I used a large pastry tip to poke holes in the tops of the cupcakes. After that I used the same size tip on a pastry bag, and piped the filling into the holes.

The white swirl on top is just melted white chocolate.

Dishing out these Organic Hostess Cupcakes to Cupcake Hero’s April Event: Earth Day!

I stored these under a cake dome on the counter…great the next day! Maybe even better than the first. I just love a dessert that can be made the day ahead!

The recipes…

beatty’s chocolate cake
from barefoot contessa at home, by ina garten

  • 1 3/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 3/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 2 t baking soda
  • 1 t baking powder
  • 1 t salt
  • 1 cup nonfat milk*
  • 1 T vinegar*
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 1 cup hot coffee

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Spray three 8 inch round cake pans with Pam, line with parchment paper and spray again.

Sift the flour, sugar, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder, and salt into standing mixer’s bowl. In another bowl, combine the milk, vinegar, oil, eggs and vanilla. Turn mixer on low and slowly add the wet ingredients to the dry. Keep the mixer on low and slowly pour in the hot coffee. Be sure to scrape down the sides and mix again.

The batter will be wet. Carefully pour into silpat cupcake cups, halfway. Bake on a baking sheet for 20 minutes or until cake tester comes out clean.

For the Filling
1/2 cup heavy cream
6 ounces finely chopped white chocolate

In a heavy medium saucepan over medium-high heat, bring the cream to a boil. Add the white chocolate and remove from heat. Let the mixture stand briefly; stir till smooth. Transfer to a metal bowl and refrigerate until chilled thoroughly, stirring occasionally. With an electric mixer, beat the white chocolate mixture just until fluffy. About 1 minute.

Glaze
3 ounces finely chopped bittersweet chocolate
3 TBS boiling water

Place the chocolate in a small bowl. Whisk in the boiling water and blend till smooth. One at a time, dip the top of each cupcake into the warm glaze. Turn the glazed cupcake right side up and set on wire rack on top of a baking sheet. Refrigerate the cupcakes for 5 minutes or to set the glaze.

Filling and Glaze Recipes from the cookbook: White Chocolate by Janice Wald Henderson
Originally seen on Megans Cookin.
17 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You’re up so early! Those look delish.

  2. the resemblance to the store-bought version is uncanny, but i’ll bet yours are ten times better. nicely done!

  3. They look just like the real thing!
    An organic Hostess cupcake makes me giggle.

  4. They are awesome! Thanks so much!

  5. What a great idea! They look amazing! Happy Earth Day! :)

  6. You did an awesome job on these…they look way better than the real thing, and bet they taste better too! Hope you have a great day :)

  7. These look amazing and very authentic! Thanks for sharing.

  8. Wow! Those look great! And I have to say, if I was going to be baking this early in the morning, you better believe it’s going to be a cupcake!

  9. Now there’s a fun oxymoron. I LOVE Hostess Cupcakes! These sound better than the real thing.

  10. Adorable! Looks way better than the actual product, which I don’t care for. Yours I would eat in a second!

  11. So, so cute! I am due for a chocolate fix about now. :)

  12. They’re too cute! And organic to top it off. :)

  13. Thanks for visiting my blog. Your blog looks great. I love making homemade stuff that are brand name knockoffs. I gotta try those cupcakes! And its nice to know there are no preservatives! I love your outlook on life and your efforts to better yourself. Keep it up!

  14. [...] of Do Better baked Organic Hostess Cupcakes. Doing better sure looks good to me, as these hostess with the mostess cupcakes prove. It’s [...]

  15. [...] Company Brownies June 4, 2008 at 11:18 am | In Dessert | Tags: barefoot contessa, brownies I’ve always been a big fan of Ina Garten. Her coconut cupcakes are divine. I think beatty’s chocolate cake is the best chocolate cake recipe ever, and I love it so much that I made it into cupcakes. [...]

  16. [...] July 2, 2008 at 11:15 pm | In going green | Tags: eco-friendly, going green, green Making an organic cupcake is okay and all, but there is more I can be doing, much more.  And with all of the news about [...]

  17. [...] Cupcakes | Tags: barefoot contessa, cupcakes I know, with me it’s either jello jello jello or cupcakes cupcakes cupcakes. Not a lot of variety. But I’m a traditionalist, and when I know something [...]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

