Yoda’s Ice Cream

April 26, 2008 at 1:45 pm | Posted in avocado puree, Dessert | 15 Comments

What do you call Coconut Avocado Ice Cream when you are trying to sell it to 5 year olds? Yoda’s Ice Cream, of course.

I know, my poor kids, their mom has succumbed to the Dark Side. Muw-ha-ha-ha! I can hear Darth Vador laughing. Veggies in your ice cream!

And I’ll admit, it’s no Vanilla Bean Ice Cream. But for some reason the coconut and avocado actually work together. The ice cream is smooth and creamy. The flavors aren’t too intense. And my kids ate it! “Tastes like Yoda“, said my son. But he thought that maybe it should be called Jabba the Hut Ice Cream because of how it slimmed Darth Vador.

Coconut Avocado Ice Cream (aka Yoda’s Ice Cream)

(from All Recipes)

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups whole milk
  • 1 cup coconut cream (I used a can labelled coconut milk)
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 2 (1/2 pound) avocados, peeled and pitted
  • 3/4 teaspoon lemon juice

Directions

  1. Puree milk, coconut cream, sugar, avocados, and lemon juice in a blender until smooth.
  2. Strain into a bowl. Cover, and refrigerate for several hours until cold. Freeze in an ice cream machine according to manufacturer’s directions, then freeze overnight.
  3. Allow ice cream to soften in refrigerator for 10 minutes before serving.

And I have to dedicate Yoda’s Ice Cream to Jen, who commented, “Today at Costco I was very tempted to get an ice cream and I thought to myself, “would Karen?” and then I thought, “No, she’d probably make some from scratch and throw in some carrots or spinach to make it healthy.” Then I got grossed out and just kept walking past it.” I thought this was hilarious! And took it as a challenge!

Scooping out this Coconut Avocado Ice Cream For Vindicate the Vegetable! Week 3 Event: Avocados

15 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I so wanted to do avocado ice cream for VTV but I have no ice cream maker. :(

  2. I see all these homemade ice creams and I am so wishing for an ice cream maker. I don’t even know if they sell them here. Sorry to say the avocado flavor might not be the first on my list to try though. Creative Karen…very creative!

  3. I love it! Yoda Ice Cream! Alexis and I made some chocolate ice cream yesterday, but I think next time we may try this instead! :)

  4. Oh my goodness, my boys would love it I’m sure. Brilliant! LOL at Jen’s comment too :)

  5. I can’t wait to try this!

  6. karen, this sounds like a stellar combination! avocado is so smooth and rich and buttery, and coconut is a one-of-a-kind flavor that i happen to adore. i’ll mark this down as reason #398 that i need to invest in an ice cream maker. :)

  7. I love avocado ice cream! I’ll definitely throw some coconut in the next time I make it.

  8. This looks absolutely delicious! I’m not a big avocado fan, but I would definately try this myself! And my kids would eat anything Star Wars-enhanced!

  9. That sounds delightful! I love avocado milkshakes.

  10. No worries about hiding veggies in their ice cream, as avocados are fruit. Technically.

    So you say this actually tastes good? :/

  11. It’s like that commercial… “There’s peas in my fudge… There’s brussel sprouts in my cake…”

  12. [...] Do Better [...]

  13. yumm..seriously..yumm

  14. I love your blog!! I just happened upon it, and I want to make everything you posted on here!!!!

  15. [...] Bacon, Red Beet, Coconut Avocado, Lemon Buttermilk Sherbert, Banana Mango, or Blueberry Sour [...]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

