Kid Friendly Shepherds Pie

January 10, 2010 at 3:01 pm | Posted in Family Meals | 7 Comments
Tags: ,

I knew my kids would turn their noses up and fold their arms in out-right defiance to eating this Shepherds Pie.

I also knew that if I remained calm, encouraged them to try, and threatened no dinner, they would eventually take a bite.

I also knew that the biscuit layer was irresistible, so I directed them to the top….and after one bite of that familiar layer they were sold!  My son actually asked for seconds.

Yes, it is true, my son (the reformed white eater) actually ate this and asked for more!

We’ll be having this Shepherds Pie again.  I kept the flavor profiles low so there was nothing unfamiliar here.  But that biscuit layer was the true secret to the success of this dish.  I’ll happily make it again, and I know my kids will happily eat it again.

Shepherds Pie (adapted from this recipe by Paula Deen)

Ingredients

  • 1 small onion
  • 1 1/2 pounds ground turkey
  • 1 15 oz can tomato sauce
  • 1 1/2 cups mixed vegetables
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 8 to 10 medium red new potatoes
  • 1 cup milk, nonfat
  • 8 tablespoons butter, divided
  • 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 1 cups instant biscuit mix

Directions

Ground Turkey Layer: Saute onions in 2 tablespoons butter. Add ground turkey. After turkey is browned, add tomato sauce. Add salt and pepper, to taste.

Potato Layer: Peel and slice potatoes 1/4-inch thick. Cook in boiling water for approximately 15 minutes or until fork-tender. Mash with a potato masher. Add 1/4 cup heated milk, 1/4 cup butter, and sour cream. Salt and pepper, to taste.  Adjust thickness by adding more milk, if desired.

Biscuit Layer: Combine biscuit mix and 1/2 cup milk. The mix should be thinner than normal biscuit mix but not runny.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Spray a 9 by 9 by 2-inch pan, or any similar casserole dish. Layer half way up with the mashed potatoes. Next, spread a layer of mixed vegetables. Then add a layer of the meat.  Sprinkle with 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese. Pour biscuit mix over meat. Melt 2 tablespoons of butter and drizzle over top. Bake for approximately 35 to 45 minutes until top is golden brown.  Allow to cool slightly, serve warm.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. My first visit to your blog and I love it! Wonderful receipts :D

  2. It looks delicious. I know my family would have no problem polishing that off. ;)

  3. My Shepard’s Pie is a bit different but it’s a kid favorite and there is never a spoonful left. I’m glad your kids like yours! It’s always nice to have another winner meal in the rotation.

  4. What a great twist on Shepherd’s Pie!

  5. Yum!!! This looks so good! I wonder if my own white eaters would like it! Hmmmm

  6. I always loved shepherd’s pie as a kid. Glad your son decided to, too.

    On a side note, I’m doing Run/Swim/Bike/Cook again this February, hope you can participate!

  7. looks so appetizing!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

