In the beginning…Chocolate Chip Cookies

October 11, 2007 at 8:19 pm | Posted in Dessert | 5 Comments
Tags:

I first heard about veggie purees on the Oprah show on Monday, October 8, 2007. The next day I picked up Jessica Seinfeld’s how-to cookbook, Deceptively Delicious. Now, two days later, I have pureed carrots, cauliflower, beets, spinach and sweet potato stored in my refrigerator and freezer.
Tip: Buy frozen veggies in ready-to-steam bags. The work is minimal, all you do is steam the veggies in your microwave per instructions, puree the veggies in your food processor, and then measure out the puree into 1/2 cup amounts and store them in ziploc bags. A snack-size bag works nicely for this amount.

The first recipe I tried was the Chocolate Chip cookies with Chickpeas (garbanzo beans). Skeptical, I dumped a can of whole chickpeas (rinsed and drained) into my cookie batter. A few hours later I headed out to the park to meet our playgroup, cookies in hand. As I passed out the cookies, I watched closely for any signs of “ewww gross” coming from the kids. Not only did they happily eat these cookies, but asked for more! Even the moms were amazed at the hidden ingredient. These cookies were a hit! The chickpeas do not change the look, texture or taste of the cookie. Amazing!

The recipe:

1c brown sugar
¾ c unsalted butter
2 large egg whites
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 (15 oz) can chickpeas, drained and rinsed (aka garbanzo beans)
bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips
2 cups all purpose flour
½ c old fashioned oats
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 t salt

Preheat oven to 350

Beat the sugar and butter until smooth
Beat in the egg whites and vanilla, then chickpeas and chocolate chips

Sift in flour, oats, baking soda and salt

Mix until dough forms and refrigerate for 30 minutes

Drop dough by the Tablespoon (I used my pampered chef cookie scoop)

Bake 11-13 minutes, careful not to overbake

Store in airtight container for up to 3 days

Makes 3 dozen
Adapted from Deceptively Delicious.


5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Could you please share this recipe for the cookies!? I’m dying to try them and yours look scrumptious!

  2. Thank you so much for putting up the Jessica Seinfeld chickpea chocolate chip cookie recipe. I have been searching endlessly, and the book is sold out. I can’t get my son to eat Veggies so this is the most exciting thing in my world right now. Thank you!!!!

  3. THANK YOU!!!! I’ll be making these today : )

  4. Yes, this book has opened my eyes to the possibilities of getting my white-eating kids to get their veggies. It has almost become a game for me to figure out how and what to hide into my kids food.

    Oh, I found mine at Costco for just $15.

  5. Thank you for posting this recipe! I ordered the book from Amazon but it won’t arrive until the end of October and I didn’t want to wait!

    I will make them tomorrow…should be interesting.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

