Sweet Potato Pancakes

October 13, 2007 at 3:46 pm | Posted in breakfast, Family Meals, sweet potato puree | 2 Comments
Tags:


It’s Saturday morning, and we are able to have a nice, leisurly morning. I let my hubby sleep in and get up with the kids. Around 8am, my son starts asking for breakfast, and I really want to try to create something close to the original, so I try Sweet Potato Pancakes.

I take out the sweet potato puree I have frozen and thaw it in the microwave. Next, I whip up the pancakes. Super easy, and because of the sweet potato, I only use one egg.

Sweet Potato Pancakes

  • 2 cups Bisquick Mix
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup sweet potato puree
  • 1 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg

Mix the Bisquick, egg, sweet potato puree, milk cinnamon and nutmeg. Whip until smooth. Pour on a hot griddle and enjoy!

As you can see, these have some color, but it is very neutral, good for my, “I only eat white foods” son. The sweet potato has disappeared into the pancake. To help with the color and taste, I told my kids that these are cinnamon pancakes with a little nutmeg. They bought it and ate them up.

For the sweet potato puree I microwave cooked the sweet potatoes until they could be pierced with a knife. I trimmed the ends, put them (skin and all) into my food processor and pureed until smooth. I stored the sweet potato puree in 1/2 cup amounts in a snack size ziploc and stored them in the freezer.

Why sweet potatoes? According to Deceptively Delicious, “Sweet potatoes help stabilize kids’ blood sugar levels by providing soluble fiber. And they’re good for skin, eyes, and all-over good health because they’re rich in beta carotene and other antioxidants.”

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love this blog.
    Great fun – will reciprocate the link.
    Thanks
    Charlotte

  2. […] Sweet Potato Pancakes […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

