Peanut Butter Cookies

October 24, 2007 at 7:56 pm | Posted in Dessert, sweet potato puree | 3 Comments
Tags:


My friend Mary says that veggies don’t belong in desserts. “Why mess with a perfectly good brownie?”, she says. And that traditional side of me, that side that believes in the “everything in moderation” credo, agrees. But not willing to give up on the idea that we can have it all, I started searching for ideas of getting vegetables into my desserts.

I turned to Missy Chase Lapine, aka The Sneaky Chef, and read that sweet potatoes are a good pairing with peanut butter. Better yet, according to her blog, sweet potatoes stabilize blood sugar levels preventing the classic crash and burn our kids (and us) experience when eating sugary foods.

So, I set out to create a classic Peanut Butter Cookie with some sweet potato puree to boost.

1/2 cup unsalted butter softened to room temp
1/2 cup sweet potato puree
3/4 cup creamy peanut butter (I use Skippy)
1 3/4 cup all purpose flour
1/2 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1/2 t baking soda
1/2 t baking powder
1/2 t salt
1 t vanilla

First beat the butter, puree and peanut butter and combine until smooth and fluffy. Add 1 cup of the flour, the sugars, egg, baking soda, baking powder, vanilla and the remaining 3/4 cup flour. Blend until combined.

Scoop out a tablespoon of dough, roll into a ball, put on baking tray, and flatten with fork.

Bake 350 degrees for about 8 minutes. Makes about 36 cookies.

Tip: I’ve found that when I store these baked goods with puree in the freezer, they stay better longer. So, I’ll keep some cookies out for dessert tonight, and the rest will be stored in the freezer to enjoy later.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ok, so you have proven that there are exceptions to everything. These cookies are fabulous, and I do mean FABULOUS! I would eat a veggie hiding in any of my desserts if they all turned out this good. Thanks, Karen!

  2. Thanks for sharing the cookies at the park… My little sugar fiend didn’t detect any veggies. I think the candy corn on top for decoration was a good decoy!

  3. I can’t believe my little sugar fiend didn’t detect any veggies! I think to candy corn on top as decoration was a great decoy!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

