carrots carrots carrots

October 29, 2007 at 11:29 pm | Posted in carrot puree, how to puree | 1 Comment
Tags:

First, inspiration came when I saw Megan’s recipe, “The Monkey Bread Goes Wild For Garlic”, I sat up and took notice. Come on now, this looks sooo good!

And Sara Moulton’s recipe for Old-Fashioned Chicken Noodle Soup would be oh-so-good with the bread (I just omit the mushrooms).

So I headed off this morning to my local Trader Joes and picked up the necessary ingredients for this great make ahead soup.

There, I picked up this big bag of baby carrots. Hmmm…some for the soup, some for carrot puree, and some for cruidites before dinner tonight.

Here’s how my 24 oz bag of carrots was divided into these three recipes:First is easy, just take a sandwich size ziploc bag and put in enough baby carrots for a vegetable plate, about 1/3 of the bag.

Then, take out the second 1/ 3 of carrots out of the bag and cut them up for the Old-Fashioned Chicken Noodle Soup. Finally, take the last 1/3 of carrots, microwave cook for about 4 minutes, puree, and then package them into 1/2 cup amounts in snack-size ziplock bags. Don’t forget to label the carrot puree bag with the date, contents and amount packaged.


1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hi karen, Thanks for the shout out! Your soup gave me inspiration as well. When I saw all the ingredient, I thought, I have that, and that, and that. I also have a chicken that needs to be used. Chicken soup for dinner tomorrow!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

