happy pumpkins day

October 31, 2007 at 7:06 pm | Posted in essay | 4 Comments
Tags:

It’s Halloween. I’m the daughter of Christian parents and the granddaughter of a dentist, so growing up this holiday was never much of anything. One of my earliest memories of Halloween involves wearing a “clown” costume. My let’s-not-make-a-big-deal-or-spend-too-much-money parents convinced me that my costume would be fine. Well, being a clown in my family meant three big colorful buttons pinned to a white shirt and a red painted nose. That was it. I actually remember being embarrassed by this costume.

In the school parade the other students would be dressed in real costumes and I would have to march around in my (pretend you’re a clown) clown costume. I even remember one parent standing on the side and saying, “oh, look at the cute clown”. I felt so undeserving of the praise. I thought that she was just saying that to be nice and that I really looked poor and pathetic. To top it off, my brother, sister and I would go Trick-or-Treating only to have to surrender the candy to my mom, and she would pass it out to the neighborhood kids. Pitiful, I know.

But six years ago, on October 30, 2001, I found out I was pregnant with the help of a successful IVF with a day two rescue ICSI. A couple of weeks later during an ultrasound, my doctor said, “well Karen, when you are lucky, you are doubly lucky…there’s your first baby. And there’s your second baby.”

My little pumpkins are now five years old. Tonight they will wear real costumes (but not too expensive), go trick-or-treating (to just a few houses) and enjoy some candy (just a few pieces).

Wishing you and your little pumpkins a safe and fun Halloween! Karen

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. and adorable pumpkins they are!

  2. “happy pumpkins day” to you, Karen! Loved the post.

  3. what a sweet post! six years have gone by quick!

  4. Oh Darlin~

    Truly hope you & your sweet little pumpkins have a Fabulous Pumpkin Day!

    much love to you~ chele


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

