Tale of three potatoes

November 8, 2007 at 10:27 pm | Posted in how to puree, sweet potato puree | 1 Comment

Sweet Potatoes! I am convinced that this root vegetable needs to be apart of my family’s diet. Rich in antioxidants, vitamin A, and known as an anti-diabetic food, these are as powerful as they are tasty.Tonight we are having Aloha Chicken, and I need some sweet potato puree. Here’s what I did…

1. wrap two sweet potatoes individually in plastic wrap and microwave until soft, about 5-10 minutes, depending on the size (while waiting I cleaned the lunch dishes, wiped the table and checked my email)

2. allow sweet potatoes to cool to the touch (make the kids a fort in the family room, check email again)

3. cut open sweet potatoes to expose flesh and drop into food processor, puree until smooth (fort breaks, daughter yells at son, fix fort)4. measure out 1/2 cup of sweet potato puree and package into individual snack-size bags, writing the contents, amount and date on the bag. In all, this took me 30 minutes. I have my puree for tonight and two more meals, plus I have my third sweet potato I’m saving for sweet potato fries.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. What an inspiration you are! Multi tasking while puree-ing. You make it sound so easy and fun!!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

