dh’s "better get to the gym in the morning" cookies

November 9, 2007 at 5:28 am | Posted in Dessert | 2 Comments

Okay, my dh just pulled these from the oven. Holy Cow! No purees, no veggies…just chocolate, peppermint, butter and sugar goodness. Seriously people. It’s 9:30 pm and I want another….better grab a glass of water and watch Greys Anatomy, I need something to distract me! 1 bag Ghirardelli 60% Cacao Bittersweet Chocolate Chips
6 T unsalted butter
3 eggs
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup all purpose flour
1/2 t baking powder
1 bag white chocolate chips
1 cup Andes Peppermint Crunch Baking Chips

In a double boiler melt the bittersweet chocolate chips and butter. In large bowl, beat eggs and sugar until thick; stir in chocolate mixture.

In a small bowl, stir together flour and baking powder; stir into chocolate mixture. Gently mix in white chocolate chips and peppermint crunch chips.

Using a sheet of plastic wrap, form dough into two logs, each about 2 inches in diameter and 8 inches long. As dough will be very soft, use plastic wrap to hold dough in log shape. Wrap tightly. Refrigerate at least 1 hour or until firm.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Unwrap dough; with sharp knife, cut into 3/4 inch slices. Place slices on parchment lined cookie sheet. Bake 12-14 minutes or until shiny crust forms on top but interior is still soft. Cool on baking sheet.

Recipe from Ghirardelli

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. A husband who bakes?! Where do I find one of those?

  2. I had the pleasure of actually tasting one of the cookies pictured above. From the moment I held it in my hand, I knew I was in for an epicurean delight the likes of which I had never experienced. From the first bite I was transported to a world where taste, texture, and aroma existed in perfect balance. It was a kaleidiscope of flavor, each bite more complex than the one before. I never knew what was coming next. Was it a chunk of ANDY’S mint? Or was it pure chocolate cookie goodness? Maybe both?!? Either way I knew I would not be disappionted. Well done MR. Downing, well done.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

