no-fight-tonight calzones

November 14, 2007 at 12:50 am | Posted in essay, Family Meals | 1 Comment

I know I should do better. Fellow bloggers/nutritionists/parenting experts are bemoaning The Sneaky Chef and Deceptively Delicious. “It’s wrong to deceive our children.” “Kids should learn to love veggies in their natural form.” “There is little nutritional value left in these veggies after they are cooked, pureed, and then spread over four servings.”

I am doing my best. I have been upfront with my family about what they have been eating. I’ve been serving lots of different veggies with dinner. I’ve been using my purees as a way to reduce the amount of eggs/oil/butter I usually would use in my baking and cooking.

But not tonight. We are having Calzones. I would have loved to have stuffed my kids calzones with chunks of turkey, fresh red onions, red bell peppers and mushrooms. But I don’t want the fight tonight. I don’t want to explain and come clean. I just want a nice relaxing dinner with my family. So, I pureed. Yep, I took the turkey and fresh veggies, threw them in my food processor, and pureed. I admit it. I pureed. I snuck good lean protein and fresh veggies in my kids’ food. Say what you may, it’s working for me tonight.To make these calzones, just get some of your favorite pizza dough. Roll to a circle. Spread with pizza sauce up to one inch around edge. On half of the dough, sprinkle mozzarella cheese. Over the cheese sprinkle pureed fresh veggies and cooked turkey then another sprinkling of cheese. Fold the dough over, pinch closed. Brush on a light layer of olive oil on top of calzone. Bake at 400 degress for 10-15 minutes.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Looks delicious!! Will you post your recipe for these?!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

