solutions week 2

November 18, 2007 at 3:57 am | Posted in Diet and Exercise, solutions | 1 Comment
Tags:

Friday- No gym today, probably won’t make it back until Monday morning. Still, dinner was finished at 6pm and I went for a 30 minute walk after. And the good news is that my jeans are fitting better. When I put them on this morning, I definitely noticed a difference, yea!

Bonus 20 minutes yoga…

Thanksgiving Thursday-
I went for a 2.5 mile run this morning. Okay, it was more like a jog, but still. Today we are eating early, but still will be sticking to my, “no eating after 7pm” rule. It’s easy to keep snacking on days like today.

Wednesday-
Gym day today! 35 minutes on the elliptical then triceps, abs, lunges and squats. Finished off with a nice stretch.

No eating while reading the newspaper, but was irritated all afternoon. I’ve got to find a new thing to do when I need a little down time. Tomorrow’s pumpkin pies are in the oven. Plan to walk and yoga this evening after the kids go down.

Okay, got in a 20 minute walk and 20 minutes of pilates this evening. Dinner was finished around 7pm. Not looking at the time and once again mindless of my eating, I had a piece of “tester” pumpkin pie in my hand and up to my mouth, when I quickly checked the time and dumped the fork-full of pumpkin pie goodness into the sink. “Is it worth it?” should be my mantra.

I’ve heard that if you fail to plan, plan to fail. And I feel as though I need a plan with my exercise tomorrow…I’ll get up at 7am, get the crumb cake into the oven at 7:15am, and while it bakes I’ll head out for a little turkey trot.

Tuesday-
Went to the gym today. Did 30 minutes on the elliptical and then some arms and abs. Left the newspaper in the car yesterday and today.

Dinner was finished by 6 pm and then I went for a 30 minute walk. I was actually a little hungry when I went to bed, yeah!

On Sunday night dinner was finished by 6:30pm. Then I walked for 30 minutes.

I succeeded in not eating while reading the newspaper, but was back at the mall after a friend gave me the Gap 30% off coupon (Thanks Crystal). So, instead of eating I was shopping.

Tonight’s dinner (Saturday) was finished by 6:30pm and I went for a 30 minute walk afterwards. Didn’t make it to the gym today, but we walked the mall for a couple of hours and then walked around Los Gatos for another hour. While there, we did stop at my favorite bakery, Icing on the Cake. This place is dripping with pure bliss, and my Chocolate Cherry Chunk cookie was divine!

This past week, I’ve been working on reducing my waist size with these three solutions:

  • Get to the gym four times
  • No eating after 7pm
  • When eating dinner at home, go for a walk afterwards

I did get to the gym four times, stopped eating before 7pm, and I went for a walk after dinner every day but Friday.

But now what? I am keeping all three original goals for Thanksgiving week, but I really need to start addressing my eating. In Bob Greene’s Total Body Makeover, he has five rules for eating:
1. Have an eating cutoff time.
2. Eat a nourishing breakfast.
3. Drink a minimum of six 8-oz glasses of water a day.
4. Eliminate Alcohol.
5. Make eating a conscious act.

So, my fourth goal for the week will be: No eating while reading the Newspaper. Because, this is how I unwind. This is how I de-stress. And I know I’m not eating for hunger sake, I’m eating for emotional sake. And I should stop.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Yes, I know it is late and I should be sleeping. I really admire your solutions posts, I wish I was brave enough to commit so publically!
    I just wanted to echo #2 of that list. Healthy breakfasts of whole grains, protein and even a bit of fruit are a great, filling and satisfying way to start the day. Morning grain porridges will be wonderful with winter coming your way.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

