child’s play creme brulee

November 19, 2007 at 9:02 pm | Posted in Dessert | 1 Comment
Tags:

My kids have been playing Remy in the backyard, mixing up weeds, dirt, and the fallen oranges from the tree. “This is how Remy cooks”, I overheard my son saying the other day. Trying to turn this play into something real and bring oranges into my son’s diet (white eater), I picked up a bag of tangerines today at the store. I wasn’t quite sure what we’d do with them, but I figured an idea would present itself…and it did.

As my son and daughter were breaking open the fallen oranges and squeezing out their juice, I got out my big bag of tangerines and asked if they wanted to make something. The tangerines were the perfect fruit. Because of their small size and thin skin, my kids were easily able to cut these in half with a butter knife. I handed my son a citrus juicer and had my kids alternate between cutting and juicing our tangerines.

After a quick search for orange creme brulee, I found a recipe that could be adapted to my ingredients at home. Here’s what I used:
Child’s Play Creme Brulee
5 eggs
1 egg yolk
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup half and half
1/2 t tangerine juice (freshly squeezed)
1/2 t vanilla extract
1/4 t tangerine zest

Whisk ingredients in a bowl until they are all added. Pour creme mixture into a double boiler and whisk until slightly thickened. Pour creme into 6 individual ramekins. Place ramekins in a baking dish and pour water in the baking dish, until the water line comes up the outside of the ramekins, half way. Bake at 300 degrees for 25-30 minutes or until the custard is set. At this point, refrigerate until ready to serve. Place a light layer of sugar on top of the custard and caramelize with a torch or broiler. Serve immediately.I missed the heavy cream and egg yolk base I’m used to in this classic dessert. But my kids think it’s great. The tangerine taste definitely comes through, and my kids were able to do most of the mixing and measuring by themselves (with supervision). Plus, my I-only-eat-white son got to handle, cut, juice, taste and then enjoy tangerines. This is really something (he won’t even drink orange juice).Next day report…no sugar on top, just the custard, straight out of the fridge, So Good!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I think we are on the same wave length. I just made my first pumpkin cream brulee. I was amazed how easy they were and how impressive to serve. Your kids are gonna grow up with a passion for cooking. Good job!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

