solutions week 3

November 27, 2007 at 2:58 am | Posted in Diet and Exercise, solutions | 3 Comments

Saturday– I went to a baby shower brunch today. Skipped the sausages and scones. Enjoyed the eggs, fruit, and a muffin. It was a cheesecake “cake”, not really worth the calories, but how do you say, “no” at a shower? Dinner was finished by 6:15pm.

No gym or walk tonight. I’ve only been to the gym three times this past week. And it’s not really part of our weekend routine.

Friday
– No gym today, but I walked around the classroom for hour after hour. I figure I took a lot of steps today…perhaps I need a pedometer. DH went out to dinner, we finished by 7:15pm and then walked the mall for an hour.

Thursday
– Gym day! I did 20 minutes on the StairMaster “StairMill”. You know the machine that is like walking up flights of stairs. I did 58 floors. Okay, I admit that I was going pretty slow and could have gone faster, but I wanted to get my bearings on the thing. After that I did 15 quick minutes on the elliptical and then went into the empty aerobic room and did some arms, abs and a bunch of lunges.

Tonight I’m hungry, and I want to eat something. But it’s almost 8pm. I didn’t have dinner, but that’s because I ate so much banana bread this afternoon, I wasn’t hungry for dinner, and then I had a haircut appointment at 6pm, so I missed my window.

Wednesday
-No gym this morning, but I did get the carpets clean. Such a feeling of accomplishment! This evening dinner was finished at 6:15pm and then I went for a 25 minute walk.

Tuesday
– Went to the gym this morning and got in 35 minutes on the elliptical. Then I did some ab work and squats on the ball. No walk this evening with dh in a meeting, but still got in 20 minutes of yoga.

Here’s a great tip, if you have On Demand, check out the exercise menu. There you can find lots of good workouts including the yoga and pilates I’ve been doing. It sure beats doing the same old exercise dvd’s I’ve had for years. Well, I made it through Thanksgiving weekend. Here’s a photo of my dear daughter and I on Thanksgiving. And I felt great!

It was so good to have my goals in mind. I kept to my challenge of not eating after 7pm and tried to walk when I could. The good news is that after sticking to my solutions for two weeks, I’ve lost 3/4 of an inch in my waist, so I’m down to 32 inches. And I can tell a difference in the way my clothes are fitting, yeah!

So, this week I am keeping to my goals of:

  • no eating after 7pm
  • walking after dinner when eating at home
  • go to the gym 4 days this week
  • no mindless eating while reading the newspaper

Today, Monday, I went to the gym. My “i-teach-p.e.-step-and-spinning” sister was in town and worked me in the weight room. I also did 35 minutes on the treadmill. This evening dinner was finished at 6:15pm and I went for a 25 minute walk afterwards.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You’ve lost 3/4 of a inch?! Good for you and so inspiring!! Sweet picture of you and H too!

  2. You can also get exercise DVDs from Netflix – even stream some of them.

  3. I started doing the no-eating-within-3-hours of bedtime thing a few months ago, and have been amazed at what a difference it has made. I think that mostly, it keeps me from snacking all night long when I’m not really hungry. Great job on your progress!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

