Christmas cheer-us-up Cookies

December 8, 2007 at 1:05 am | Posted in Dessert | 2 Comments
Tags:

In the wake of our missing Frosty and Penguins, my kids were needing some Christmas cheer. Today it came in the form of sugar and flour! One look at Ree’s cookies and I knew this would be our afternoon activity. I followed her directions to a “t”. (But being a first born, I did not double the recipe ).

Ree’s technique for decorating cookies is fool proof! It’s easy! And the results are beautiful! Just check these out. I had my kids “paint” the cookies by spooning a small amount of egg yolk coloring on their cookie and then spreading it with the back of a spoon. I love Ree’s idea to use a watercolor brush, but I couldn’t find any that weren’t first used with something crayola. My dd used Q-tips to paint her snowman. Here’s how they looked just out of the oven:Then I took a swipe with the pastry bag (mixed with powdered sugar, milk and meringue powder).Our next batch was even better…Seriously, the results are amazing. I like how it gives a color-flow look without the effort. For a slightly frazzled stay-at-home-mom to her five-year old twins, this is definitely do-able. Thanks Ree! I love this and will never go back to my old miserable ways!

I made more of these cookies after the kids went to bed, just two eggs left so I made a green and red. Here are my pretty cookies:And I really like how the candy canes turned out. They remind me of stained glass. I must admit that I haven’t even tasted one yet (no eating after 7pm). But my kids and husband thought these were great.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. LOVE the cookies Karen!! The photos are beautiful as well🙂

    Kath

  2. These cookies are delightful. I never heard or the egg wash on sugar cookies before but I wont forget it either. Will you send me that cute candy cane? I have a cup of coffee here just begging for one;)


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

