Cornbread

December 11, 2007 at 1:01 am | Posted in Family Meals, flaxseed meal | 4 Comments
Tags:

Need Butternut Squash puree! Want Butternut Squash puree! But no Butternut Squash Puree…

So, I tried beans. Canned white kidney beans to be exact. I took the beans, rinsed them, dropped them in my food processor, added a little water, and got three 1/2 cup bags of bean mush, oh, I mean puree.

With my Trader Joe’s Cornbread mix (come on, make life easy with me, use a box) I was ready to try to make Cornbread (with bean puree).
1 box Cornbread mix
1/2 cup white kidney bean puree
2 T flaxseed meal
3 T olive oil
1 egg
3/4 cup milk

Stir puree, flaxseed meal, olive oil, egg and milk in large bowl. Mix in Cornbread mix until combined. Bake in an 8×8 baking pan, sprayed with non-stick spray, at 350 degrees for 35 minutes.And the verdict…looks and tastes like cornbread! My kids both asked for second pieces. Now, for some stats: The original recipe prepared had 290 calories per serving.

For my cornbread, I’ll add up the calories:
1530-mix
120-kidney bean puree
60-flaxseed meal
70-non-fat milk
360-olive oil
74-egg
= 2217 total calories divided by 9 servings is 246 calories per serving. (Kath, my calorie guru, thanks for your help!) So, I saved about 44 calories per serving…I can do better than that!

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hi!! 170 for the entire mix sounds really low, but if that number is right, it looks right. And it also looks delicious!!! I’ll have to look for the mix at my TJ’s.

  2. Thanks! You were right, I figured the mix per serving instead of entire box.

  3. That’s quite a difference! Glad we caught it 🙂

  4. Wow… that does sound good! I made cornbread tonight and my kids gobbled it up!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

