Christmas Candy Trains

December 18, 2007 at 12:08 am | Posted in Dessert, essay | 2 Comments

My mom and I were talking about how many long we’ve been making candy trains…27 years. I made my first train when I was 8 years old. And it has been so exciting being able to pass this tradition on to my own kids and their friends.

dsc_0153-edit.jpg

Today after school we invited a couple of friends over for lunch and to make Candy Trains. Lunch was fun and simple. I made two kinds of sandwiches, peanut butter with marshmallow spread and jelly with cream cheese…dipped in sprinkles of course! A bowl full of cherries and another with green apples.

dsc_0005.jpg

dsc_0001.jpg

After lunch it was candy train making time. I armed the moms with pastry bags full of frosting while the kids unwrapped candy, laid tracks and let their candy imagination run wild. And just as I did as a child, my kids will give their trains to their teachers (with a Starbucks gift certificate) wishing them a very Merry Christmas.

candy-train-engine-edit.jpg




2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. So cute!! Those sandwiches look SOOO good! Except I’d miss the crust 🙂

  2. Actually, the cream cheese and jelly sandwhich was TDF :). Very fun day, thanks Karen!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

