Excuse me…

December 20, 2007 at 8:26 pm | Posted in essay, Extras | Leave a comment

So I’m at the gym sweating, running, hair falling out of clip, red cheeks, when suddenly-

Pretty Girl: “Excuse me, but is your name Karen?”

Me (thinking): oh shoot, someone from high-school

Me: “Yes”

Pretty Girl: “I’m Reagan, I went to high-school with you.”

Me (thinking): holy crap, she looks great

Me: “I remember you, you had the black convertible BMW”

This is the perfect example of why I need to do better, because I live in the town I grew up in and I never know who I may run into. And it’s never when I’m shopping, lunching, coffee-ing. No, it’s moments like these, when I’m on the treadmill at the gym.

And not only is my hair not done, but the grays are all sticking out. And I need to go in for my threading. And I haven’t had a manicure since summer. And I’m wearing gym clothes. And I’m sweating, a lot.

…at least she recognized me, high-school was 17 years ago.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

