01.16.08 eating

January 17, 2008 at 9:09 am | Posted in Diet and Exercise, flaxseed meal | 6 Comments
Tags:

Okay, giving this another try today. This will not be a regular addition to my blog, it’s just been an interesting experiment for me.

Pre-work out breakfast, 3/4 cup Joe’s O’s (cheerios) and 1/2 cup nonfat milk.

Post-work out breakfast- Oatmeal pancake with flaxseed meal and banana:

dsc_0047-small.jpg

My sister would make this pancake years ago when she did Body For Life. She suggested I add flaxseed meal. Here’s how, mix 2 egg whites, 1/3 cup quick oats, 2 T flaxseed meal, 1/8 t baking powder, 1/8 t cinnamon. Pour onto a hot pan sprayed with non-stick spray and cook about 4 minutes on each side.

Lunch- turkey, red bell pepper, avocado, cream cheese on Ezekiel bread and a half a bell pepper on the side. Too full for the apple.

dsc_0039-small.jpg

Snack- 1 oz walnuts and two chocolate chip (with chickpeas) cookies:

dsc_0055-small.jpg

Dinner- left over lasagna, spinach salad with Gorgonzola and pecans, plus a slice of bread. I also ate my son’s crust.

dsc_0057-small.jpg

To avoid the crazy eating from the night before, I asked my hubby to package up/throw away any and all leftovers and I immediately went on my walk. Now the dishes wait, but all the food to pick at is gone. Plus getting on the treadmill kind of turns all that off for me.

I won’t be blogging my eating tomorrow, simply because it is a drastic change for me, and I worry about the rebound. I must say that this really has helped give me a healthy view of what I eat; how I eat; what I eat. There has been no eating while prepping meals because I was “starving”. I’ve had more veggies than I typically do. And I’ve been conscious about my eating, rather than mindlessly eating out of boredom.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I like seeing what your eating. It gives me ideas for my meals. Lunch is always a hard meal for me, and I like the oatmeal pancake idea. I’ll try it tommorow. With apple sauce instead of banana.

  2. Karen – thank you so much for the kind comments! I am just starting out and still deciding the ‘direction’ of my blog, but am very proud to have had my first commenter *ever*. I must say, your header image is what I aspire for my freezer to look like!

    I think your sandwich combination is fantastic – avocado on Ezekiel bread with a bit of lime juice is one of my favourite lunches!

  3. That’s exactly the biggest change that I noticed – I almost always snack when I’m making my lunch or when dinner is cooking, even if it’s only going to be a few minutes until I eat. Now, I’m too lazy to get the camera, so I just don’t do it. I’m not going to take pictures of my snacks forever (that would just be weird) but I think I’ll do it until I learn to stop mindlessly eating. I had no idea I was so bad!
    Oh, and thanks for linking to my post! That’s exciting for me.

  4. Also, I will be making those cookies pronto.

  5. Love that pancake – it’s perfectly made!!! I will have to try to remember to put flax in mine. Do you think the heat deactivates or oxidizes the fats at all? I always try to avoid cooking my flax (put it into oatmeal after cooking, etc.).

  6. Kath- I’ve never heard about heat de-activating/ oxidizing the omega-3’s from the flax. I think http://www.whfoods.org is a good resource, and they recommend adding it to home-made muffins, cookies and breads. Then again, I’m not a RD student, you know a lot more about this than me.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

