solutions week 11

February 5, 2008 at 3:20 am | Posted in Diet and Exercise, solutions | 8 Comments
Tags:

Back into the swing of things this week. I won’t be weighing my self for another couple of weeks.

Why? Because it’s not about the number, it’s about my lifestyle. I think one of the reasons why diets didn’t work in the past was because I was so focused on the scale, and I lost sight of the big picture.

Also, according to Dr. Oz, but cutting out just 100 calories a day, you could loose up to a pound a month. That’s the equivalent of 12 pounds in a year!

So far I’ve lost 7 pounds in 10 weeks. Not much, I know. But for me, it means I’m on the right track.

Thanks to blogs like Kath Eats, I’ve been slowly changing my eating. For example, I eat oatmeal just about every morning. Also, I’m lost in my kitchen without baby spinach and Ezekiel bread. Good lifestyle changes.

And thanks to other bloggers like Couch Cubicle and More to Love, I am encouraged by the changes others are making.

Again, here my solutions for this week:

  • Get to the gym 4 times
  • No eating after 7pm (except Tuesday night for Dinner Club)
  • Avoid hydrogenated fats
  • Drink lots off water
  • Walk after evening meals

Monday– Gym Day! I did 30 minutes on the elliptical. Then into the weight room and for shoulder presses, triceps, squats, incline push-ups, decline abs and abs on the bench.

A couple of years ago I worked with a trainer for a couple of months. It was so worth the investment. She called the weight room, “the gold mine”. Today, I love it that I can walk in their confidently knowing what to do and how to do it.

Dinner and eating was finished at 6:30pm. After that I spent 35 minutes on the treadmill. First I ran one mile, then walked, ran a second mile and walked again.

Tuesday– Gym Day! I walked at an incline on the treadmill for 33 minutes. I was feeling pretty sore/stiff so I finished with some yoga stretches/poses…love downward dog!

Wednesday– Missed my Gym Day because of a rescheduled appointment. Still got in 30 minutes of a brisk walk on the treadmill at home. More later…Okay, finished dinner at 6:15pm and then went on a 30 minute walk.

Thursday– Gym Day! 33 minutes on the elliptical and then squats, abs and shoulders.

Saturday– 2.5 mile run! Then I followed with some yoga stretches.  Finished eating dinner at 6:15pm, did the dishes and then walked for 40 minutes.

Announcement!!! For the month of February I am joining run swim bike cook hosted by Chou of Balance, Julius of Occasional Baker and Lauren of Genki Tummy. I decided to do the running and some of the cooking.

rbsc.jpg
8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m really excited you’re joining in! BTW, gorgeous cupcakes. Yum.

  2. Karen, If you get tired of the oatmeal, try these breakfast muffins! They are healthy and delicious.

    http://kalynskitchen.blogspot.com/2007/12/cottage-cheese-and-egg-breakfast.html

  3. Those look great! Thanks Megan!

  4. So I may join the “solutions” bandwagon! I have some changes I need to make and I like your idea…I am just weeks behind you! 🙂

  5. Gretchen- I’d love to have you aboard!

  6. Karen,
    you are doing so well, and you are such an inspiration, as a baker, a mom, and for everyone on the “health path”

  7. Jan, I tagged you on balance today.

  8. It sounds like you’re doing great! I think Dr. Oz would be proud of seven pounds in ten weeks for sure.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

