Classic Downing Dinner

February 20, 2008 at 6:45 pm | Posted in Family Meals | 7 Comments
Tags:

“What’s everyone doing for dinner tonight”? Someone always asks when my girlfriends and I get together for our weekly park play dates. This is my classic go-to meal…chicken, rice and a veggie. Simple. Satisfying. The kids like it. The adults like it. And I can make it with very little effort.

classic-dinner-sm.jpg

The chicken breasts we get from Costco, individually flash frozen. I bake them according to the bag’s directions…375 degree oven, sprinkled with Mrs. Dash, tented with aluminum, and baked for about 35-40 minutes. Always moist and flavorful. Two breasts is plenty for us.

The broccoli was frozen and heated in the microwave.

I tried the white rice with quinoa tonight and it was a success. Rinse* 1/2 cup of quinoa and 1/2 cup of rice. Then pour it in a rice cooker with 2 cups of water.

quinoa-and-rice-sm.jpg

And for dessert? My dear daughter and I had nectarines while my son got to play Lego Star Wars on the Wii with my hubby.

*Many thanks to Gretchen for explaining to my the importance of rinsing Quinoa.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Great idea to mix the quinoa & rice! Glad you washed it better. Did you notice the difference? That reminds me I have a great pilaf recipe with brown rice, quinoa and millet…I should make that soon…maybe tomorrow? 🙂

  2. I just read quinoa is good for migraine headaches. I may have to try it!

  3. Alright. My curiosity is piqued with the Quinoa. I’ll have to try it :).

  4. I would of never rinsed it. Thanks for the info.
    Now I just have to get it! Health food store huh?

  5. Megan- I found the quinoa at Trader Joes.

  6. Ooh, thanks for the quick ideas! I am a quinoa freak so I love the addition.

  7. That is my classic fall back dinner as well. I usually grill the chicken on the george foreman, but I might try the baking method.
    In fact, I’ve been thinking about having it tonight..although I should use up our left overs!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

