solutions week 14

February 24, 2008 at 12:34 pm | Posted in solutions | 11 Comments

solutions-week-14-sm.jpg

Saturday– After treasure hunting around the flea market and then Whole Foods (that was super fun, thanks Mary!), I stopped by Starbucks, picked up a tall soy latte…and ran 4 miles in 43 minutes.

For the week I am just shy (.5 mile) of my goal of running 15 miles.  I think starting the week with this goal kept me focused and motivated to meet the goal.  And blogging about it kept me accountable.

Friday– I spent 30 minutes in the weight room this morning; tricepts, shoulders, abs, squats, push-ups…and I ran 2 miles in 20 minutes…tonight I am so sore. My feet hurt. My legs hurt. Even my forearms hurt. No walk tonight. Finished eating at 6:15pm.

Thursday– I got up early this morning and did a 2.5 mile run. Finished eating dinner at 6pm. It was so nice out this evening that I ended up playing tag with my kids and the neighbor boys for 20 minutes. I was out of breath and sweating by the time my kids crashed and were crying on the ground. After bedtime stories I went on my 28 minute walk.

My Girl Scout Cookies came. A box of thin mints, Trefoils (my favorite) and All Abouts. They contain Hydrogenated fats. And I’ve enjoyed every single on of them.

Wednesday– I met Crystal at the gym this morning and ran 2.25 miles in 24 minutes. I hate getting super hot, red, sweaty at the gym (I know, isn’t that what I’m suppossed to do there) so I will get in another .75 mile run when I walk tonight. I felt sluggish all morning, but then came home and had my bowl of oatmeal and now I feel much better!

Totally forgot to mention that in the weight room this morning we worked our bicepts, shoulders and butts! Tonight’s dinner and eating was finished at 6:20pm and then I went on my walk. I started with my .75 mile run (wanted to get in the 3 miles today).

Tuesday– I met Crystal at the gym. There was not a treadmill to be had so we went on the ellipticals for 35 minutes. I think it’s much harder to get a good workout on the elliptical. After that we hit the weight room for back, tricepts, and a great set of abs.

We finished eating at 6:30pm and I went on a late 45 minute walk.

Monday– Today I ran 3 miles in 30 minutes. Yes, that is 3 ten minute miles, continuously. And it is with out a doubt my best run yet. It may have helped that I had a tall soy latte (thanks for the tip Allison) before my run. Dinner was finished at 6:20pm and I’m about to go on a 30 minute walk.

I woke up Sunday morning and felt good. I was excited to get on the scale thinking that I had lost another 2 pounds. So, naturally I was a bit deflated when it read 148 pounds, same as last week. The thing is, I feel smaller.

Thinking about the Dr. Oz goal of loosing 1 pound a month by cutting just 100 calories a day and Bob Greene’s goal of loosing 1-2 pounds a week, I am right in there…9 pounds in 13 weeks.

I know I am making positive choices and am on the right path. Here are my solutions for this week:

Run 15 miles
Gym’s Weight Room 3 times
Walk after Dinner
No eating after 7pm
Drink water (easy, I’m down to just 2 cups of coffee per week)
Avoid Hydrogenated Fats
Avoid High Fructose Corn Syrup

     

     

     

    hemp-milk-sm.jpg

    I tried to make a new friend in the kitchen yesterday…Hemp Milk. What a disappointment! I was planning on pouring it over my oatmeal in the morning like so many others have done…now I’m not sure if I should keep it or pour the $5 down the drain. I probably should have tried Vanilla Hemp Milk first.

     

     

     

    As for Run Swim Bike Cook, I have completed my option, the running challenge! I have logged 32 miles since Monday, February 4th.

     

    rbsc.jpg
    11 Comments »

    RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

    1. Why is it that I do well the first few days of the week and it takes a nosedive around thursday or friday. UGH! You are looking great, don’t take what the scale says to heart! Oh, and you may want to only cut out 100 calories a day…hopefully you’re not eating 100 pounds of anything a day! Ha! 😉

    2. Ha! Funny typo! Thanks! Don’t get down on yourself, be proud of every positive change/decision you’ve make.

    3. I’ve never tried that hemp milk…what was so bad about it?

      Sounds like you are on the right path though!

    4. Cakespy- I just didn’t care for the taste…very earthy, grassy, plus, it’s a light brown color, which is not easy on the eyes.

    5. I’m guessing you’re an Oprah fan? 🙂

    6. Those sound like attainable goals. Good luck!
      Hemp milk is my favorite non-dairy milk. I always feel so good knowing I’m getting a healthy dose of Omega-3’s. =)

    7. P.S. If you don’t like the plain stuff, you should definitely give vanilla a try, chocolate too! If not, everyone has their own tastes, there’s so many other kinds of non-dairy milks to choose from.

    8. arimcg- Yep, Oprah is on my Tivo, I watch about 2 episodes a week. I never miss Dr. Oz or Bob Greene!

      Romina- All of those Omega-3’s was exactly why I wanted to try the hemp milk. I hope I like the vanilla flavor!

    9. Great job on the solutions!!! I’ve heard a few others say that that brand of hemp milk is no good. The kind we bloggers have been raving about is Living Harvest (the purple one is the delicious vanilla!)
      http://www.worldpantry.com/cgi-bin/ncommerce/ExecMacro/livingharvest/home.d2w/report

    10. Glad you liked the Soy Latte!
      mm..now I want one!

    11. […] to buy: I (finally) found Living Harvest Hempmilk at Whole Foods for $3.79. Beware, not all hempmilk is created […]


    Leave a Reply

        Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
    Entries and comments feeds.

