Cravin’ Oatmeal

February 28, 2008 at 8:17 am | Posted in breakfast, flaxseed meal | 5 Comments
Tags: , ,
cravin-oatmeal-side-sm.jpg

Oatmeal is not one of those foods I ever thought I would love, let alone crave. And I never thought it would be worthy of a post. But it has become a necessary part of my day. And this mix was is good, so good in fact that I wanted it for dinner last night. Inspired by Kath, here is my favorite way to enjoy my morning meal.

cravin-oatmeal-sm.jpg

Cravin’ Oatmeal

  • 1/2 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1 banana
  • 1 heaping Tablespoon of ground flaxseed meal
  • 1 T walnuts, chopped
  • 1 T golden raisins
  • 1 T mini chocolate chips

Cook the oats in water for 5 minutes. While they are cooking, whip banana with handheld mixer. Stir in ground flaxseed. Then the cooked oats. Top with walnuts, raisins and chocolate chips.

This breakfast has 404 calories and 12.5 grams of fiber.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I have sliced a banana into my oatmeal, but have never thought of whipping it first! Have you tried other grains this way?

  2. Grethen- no, but I want to try it in a cookie!

  3. Golden raisins sound like a great alternative, and give it a beautiful color. Oatmeal isn’t something I crave either, but I keep seeing everyone’s blogs with amazing pictures! I can’t help but make it for a snack sometimes.

  4. This sounds wonderful. Maybe my daughter would even eat it. You know kids and healthy food.

  5. I was searching for rainbows when I stumbled across your blog. It found the rainbow jello that you made, which looked amazing by the way. I started reading some more pages because I thought it was devoted to just recipes but was delighted that it had more content then just that. When I found this page here my light bulb went off as I’ve been semi lookin for something to replace my extremely unhealthy fast food breakfasts.

    I bought all the stuff for it the other day and changed the chocolate chips for peanut butter chips and I have to say it has been divine. I’ve been eating it every morning for about a week now and I’m continuing to read the wonderful blog it came from (yours of course!)

    I just wanted to let you know I love your blog and am very happy I have found.

    Thank you


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

