Hemp-a-licious Breakfast

March 3, 2008 at 2:25 pm | Posted in breakfast | 7 Comments
Tags: , ,

I found it! Living Harvest Vanilla Hempmilk! And I’m sold. This stuff is good. Really good. Here’s how I applied it to breakfast this morning:

hempalicious-sm.jpg

Berry-Hemp Smoothie

  • 1/2 cup vanilla hempmilk
  • 1/2 cup frozen strawberries
  • 3 T frozen blueberries
  • 1 fresh banana

Layer in the strawberries, blueberries and banana in a blender. Pour hempmilk over the top and blend until smooth. This was very thick and creamy. My daughter and I split and enjoyed it this morning for breakfast.

Omega Oatmeal

  • 1/4 cup cooked steel cut oats
  • 2 T flaxseed meal (2400 mg of omega-3)
  • 1/4 cup vanilla hempmilk (225 mg of omega-3)
  • 1 T walnuts (1.3 grams of omega-3)

Combine cooked steel cut oats and flaxseed meal in a bowl. Stir in hempmilk. Garnish with walnuts.

Taste: I could still taste the regular hempmilk, but it was slight. The aftertaste was a nice vanilla flavor. I enjoyed this straight from the carton.

My 5 year-old son who drinks about 1.5 gallons of non-fat milk a week…”It tastes like ice cream”.

Where to buy: I (finally) found Living Harvest Hempmilk at Whole Foods for $3.79. Beware, not all hempmilk is created equal.

hempmilk-sm.jpg
7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I still have not tried hemp milk yet…someday someday! Your breakfast looks delicious though! And what a yummy sounding smoothie!

  2. You and your oatmeal, LOL. Sounds like me and my bran flakes, every morning! I think it’s great that you can see your healthy results in the weight loss and bloodwork. Great job!

  3. I’m so glad to hear you enjoyed the vanilla hempmilk!! It really does make a difference. =) Omega-3’s have never been so yummy.

  4. What a riot, I have never even heard of this stuff. Maybe it will be opposite – in six months *everyone* will be drinking it here! Ha!

  5. Angela- I didn’t know about you and Bran Flakes!

    Gretchen- That would be funny!

    Romina- Yummy Omega-3’s, you said it!

    Emma- I would encourage anyone to give it a try.

  6. Ice cream!! Yes!! So glad you liked it 🙂

  7. ohhhhhh, I love brownies, but they’re so fattening. This sounds like a good alternative.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

