Reese’s Peanut Butter Cupcakes

March 31, 2008 at 9:14 pm | Posted in Cupcakes, Dessert | 10 Comments

I was thinking of that bag of left over Easter Candy sitting in my freezer. Specifically, it was a bag of Reese’s Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Eggs.

easter-candy-pile-sm.jpg

And coincidentally, my generous and trusting sister just lent me her copy of The Secrets of Baking by Sherry Yard. There are so many recipes I want to try. Not surprisingly, I turned to her Chocolate Buttermilk Cupcakes first. But I needed a frosting…so in came those peanut butter eggs…and the Reese’s Peanut Butter Frosting was born!

easter-candy-cupcake-plate-sm.jpg

Reese’s Peanut Butter frosting on Chocolate Cupcakes

For the cupcakes: (recipe from The Secrets of Baking by Sherry Yard)

  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 4 large eggs
  • 6 oz unsalted butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line a sheet pan with mini-cupcake paper cups.

Sift the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, and salt into a bowl and set aside.

Combine the sugar and eggs in a bowl and set over a saucepan simmering with water, creating a double boiler. Whisk until the temperature reaches 110 degrees, about 3-4 minutes. (I just dipped in my finger and stopped when it felt hot to the touch).

Remove from the heat and transfer the bowl to a standing mixer fitted with a whisk attachment. Whip on high speed for 5 minutes, or until the eggs are three times their original size and thick and place yellow in color. Turn down the mixer to medium and stream in the warm melted butter. Mix until incorporated.

Fold in one third of the dry ingredients using a balloon whisk. Then add one third of the buttermilk. Continue adding alternately in thirds until all ingredients are mixed. Add the vanilla.

Scoop the batter into mini-cupcake cups with a cookie scoop. Bake for 15 minutes. Allow to cool completely before frosting.

For the frosting:

  • 1 cup Reese’s Peanut Butter Eggs
  • 4 oz cream cheese, softened to room temperature
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar, sifted
  • 1 cup sugar

Unwrap the Reese’s Peanut Butter Eggs. Put in in glass bowl an microwave for 30 seconds. Stir and then microwave for 10 seconds. Continue to microwave and stir until the peanut butter eggs are completely melted.

Mix in the cream cheese then the powdered sugar. When the frosting has cooled, put in plastic bag, snip off the end, and frost the cupcakes.

easter-candy-cupcake-tray-sm.jpg

Best enjoyed the day they are made. Or wrap tightly and store in the refrigerator. Bring up to room temperature before serving.

easter-candy-cupcake-close-sm.jpg

I am submitting these Reese’s Peanut Butter Cupakes to

Masterbaker’s March Event: Easter Candy

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. How funny- this is the exact candy that we have hidden in my hubby’s office. See, the Easter bunny filled the Easter baskets with some of them and my 6 year old would be too smart if he saw them just lying around. We have to keep that Easter bunny belief thing around as long as we can!

    I love that you made them into teeny tiny cupcakes. The frosting looks great!

  2. I love the plate: “Have another their small”. Words to eat dessert by!

  3. That sounds like some delicious frosting! Thanks for the entry!

  4. These turned out adorable. I wish we had yummy easter candy like these. Well, on second thought, maybe not! 🙂 Delicious idea!

  5. Brilliant! I can’t wait to try these out! Thanks so much for your blog–I really enjoy it!

  6. I’ll take one with a candy on top!

  7. This is the best idea I’ve ever seen. Is there a prize? If there’s a prize, you’re going to win it.

  8. oh-I hope you win! let me know if I can vote for you! your frosting recipe is ingenious!We always have TOO much candy lying around.

  9. I wish I knew this earlier! ugh… I’ve enough Reeses peanut butter eggs to last me through the next five Easters!

  10. […] Reese’s Peanut Butter frosting on Chocolate Cupcakes- Do Better – Karen […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

