Ramon’s Mango Salsa

April 1, 2008 at 10:30 pm | Posted in veggie side | 12 Comments

When my sister married Ramon, I had no idea a major foodie and exciting sushi chef had joined the family. To me, he was just Ramon. Faithful Ramon. Adoring Ramon. Kind Ramon.

But over the years he has shared with me a thing or two about preparing good food. This Mango Salsa is so simple to make, uses fresh ingredients, and tastes AMAZING! I actually eat this by the spoonful. Of course, it works beautifully over a piece of fish, chicken or a plate of chips.

The cast of characters (never mind the corn, I lost my mind momentarily)

mango-salsa-ingredients-sm.jpg

Here’s my mango up close: (if you look closely at the sticker you will see my wink and smile to Gretchen).

mango-peru-sm.jpg

And my mango in the process of being sliced:

mango-slice-sm.jpg

Ramon’s Mango Salsa

  • 1 ripe mango
  • 1/2 red onion
  • 1 bunch of cilantro
  • 2-3 tomatoes
  • 1 can of black beans
  • 2 Tbsp rice vinegar
  • 1 Tsp honey
  • season with salt and pepper

Chop all of the ingredients to roughly the same size. Stir. Drizzle in vinegar and honey. Stir again. Store covered in the refrigerator about an hour. Stir. Taste. Need salt and pepper? Add a little and taste again. Taste again. And again. Stop eating directly out of the container momentarily. Grab a fresh spoon. Eat again.

mango-salsa-bowl-sm.jpg

A bite:

mango-salsa-bites-sm.jpg

And another bite:

mango-salsa-bite-sm.jpg

No chips required:

mango-salsa-whole-sm.jpg
12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Yeah!! I’ve heard you talk and talk about this salsa! I’m excited you have shared the recipe! THANK YOU, Ramon!!

  2. that’s just lovely–its beauty brings a tear to my eye. i’ll bet its delicious, too. i’m pretty sure i’d go ahead and eat it with a spoon. a big spoon. 🙂

  3. Yum!! I’ve never had mango salsa and I have all these ingredients!!

  4. This looks so freaking good!!! Bummer that I just used up all my black beans, I will have to buy some more! This looks like it would be great in a tortilla with shredded chicken too. Yum!

    Oh, and…Peruvians Mangoes Rock!!!!!

  5. Yum,
    I love SALSA…plus I think it’s totally fine to eat it with a spoon!

  6. I love mango salsa, but have never made my own. I need to!

  7. I’m thinking with chicken in a quesadilla. Ohh, sounds so fresh. Im going to the store.

  8. Mary- He will appreciate the thanks!

    Gretchen- “freaking good”- that made me laugh.

    Megan- Bring on the quesidillas!

    Deborah and Ramona- I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

    Allison and Grace- Thanks for the fun comments!

  9. Oh yum…

  10. Love your ideas I have a quick question. From photo of ingredients you have a can of corn but it’s not listed on recipe. Do you use corn or not?

  11. Amber, sorry, I was so excited about this salsa that I momentarily lost my head and put the corn in my shot. No corn needed in this…but I think it would be good.

  12. […] exports its share of mangoes. In fact Karen used a Peruvian mango the other day to prepare a delicious salsa (or salad if you eat it straight […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

