Adventures in Suburbia: The Lid

April 3, 2008 at 9:30 pm | Posted in essay | 17 Comments

I walked into the kitchen about to offer my hubby a cup of tea, when I see this…

lid-sm.jpg

And then I turn it over and see this…

lid-up-sm.jpg

Now, it’s after 9pm, so I’m finished eating. And I had a great day. I got in 3 ten minute miles (ran for 3 miles) plus some great core work at the gym this morning. I worked in my front yard’s flower bed all afternoon. And my hubby and I got in a lovely (yet extremely rare) 2 mile evening walk after dinner. So, I feel great!

And of course, it’s 9pm and sure, I could eat something. But I don’t even want to. However, I don’t want to see this sitting on my counter either. (And everyone knows that a lone lid of haagan-daze on the counter means that the ice cream is being eaten directly out of the container, somewhere.)

So I make just one cup of tea. For Me. By the way, this is my new favorite flavor…

tea-box-sm.jpg

Oh, it’s so good. And now that lid is back on the haagan-daze. And I can go to bed knowing that at least for now, I’m doing better.

17 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You are a stronger woman than I!! I can’t buy ice cream and keep it in my house anymore because it’s one of those things that
    A. Never makes it to a bowl
    and as such
    B. Gets eaten way too quickly and mindlessly.

  2. niiiiiice self control. you deserve a pat on the back for that one. 🙂

    meanwhile, ruby red chai sounds enticing. what makes it ruby red?

  3. yumm..just the name of that tea sounds delicious! And good work on the self control!

  4. You inspire me. At 9 PM I was in the middle of my second piece of birthday cake. Sigh…

  5. grace- the ingredients are listed as rooibos, cloves, ginger, allspice, cardamom, nutmeg and cinnamon. So, it packs tons of flavor.

  6. I don’t know HOW you managed to stay away from that! You are amazing and so much stronger than me!

  7. That’s some willpower! I’m impressed.

    Also, I wanted to let you know that I love your blog but for some reason it makes my computer freeze…I have no idea why! That’s why I hardly ever get to comment but I always try 🙂

  8. Your baking is so beautiful! I hadn’t visited your blog in a little bit and look at all those amazing treats you’ve made!! The mango salsa looks especially divine. And I’ve seen that tea at Trader Joe’s! I adore any type of Chai (have it daily!), so I’ll have to give that a try!! The fresh berries on the meringue looks amazing too!

  9. Too funny. What good willpower you have 🙂

  10. Haha! That is funny! The price of haagen dazs here certainly keeps me from buying it!

  11. Your inspiring! I’ll have to try the tea. I love Chia.

  12. I mean chai. LOL I’m always in a hurry to hit the comment button.

  13. You are truly an inspiration! I’ve been looking for a good red tea-I’m gonna try your new favorite. 🙂 All the red teas I’ve found keep getting discontinued…hmm, does that mean I have bad taste?

  14. Congrats to you! I can bypass icecream. It’s the regular food I struggle with, so always have to size up my portions. It’s annoying. But I just finished my 3.5 mile very brisk walk, too. Up at 5am to do it again tomorrow. Ugh. Party on, right?

  15. I wish I was as determined as you. I would have gone on a hunt for the ice cream and not stopped until I had made the kill!
    Great blog, btw.

  16. Good for you! I probably would have plowed through hubby trying to get some!

  17. Wonderful post! Doesn’t it feel good when you don’t give in!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

