Adventures in Suburbia: The Missing Tooth

April 10, 2008 at 9:00 am | Posted in essay | 10 Comments

We were at the park yesterday. It was sunny but breezy. The kids were happily playing with their friends. The moms talking at the table. When all of a sudden my son starts crying and I see this:

Okay. That tooth was loose, but I would have guessed another couple of weeks before it would have fallen out. So, I wasn’t terribly shocked, just surprised.

The thing was, he spit the tooth out. Somewhere. On the big grassy field. And I wanted that tooth!

Our friends were great. Without even asking, they all came over and started looking. For a tooth. A baby tooth. In a big grassy field.

We looked.

And we looked.

Some started dropping out. Others took a break. The moms and I went back to the table. Oh well. We tried.

A few minutes later I heard, “WE FOUND IT”!

What?!!!!

“COLE FOUND IT”

Many thanks to our friend Cole! Because of his persistence my son and his tooth were reunited.

P.S. As I post this adventure, I realize that the tooth is still in the cookie bag that I carefully stored it in while at the park. The tooth fairy forgot to come. And my son hasn’t asked why.

And a huge thank you to my friend Angela! She grabbed her camera and made this funny little event a wonderful memory! Thanks Angela!

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. LOLOL! It was a great adventure :), the boys talked about it all the way home!

  2. What a great way to lose a tooth. Excitement, suspense, a little pain and a lot of sunshine.

  3. What a cutie! I love the missing tooth pics 🙂

  4. SO CUTE! When I was 6 or 7 I found a boy’s tooth the same way – he lost it in a baseball field!

  5. Good times, good times!!

  6. What a smile this brought me! How wonderful that the tooth was located! 🙂

  7. I hope your a scrapbooker. That would make a great 2 page spread!!!

  8. Megan- this will be a fun page to scrapbook!

  9. that’s hilarious. i can only imagine someone walking by, thinking someone’d lost a diamond ring or something, offering to help, and finding out the missing item was a tooth.

    this makes me chuckle. 🙂

  10. AAawww!! I can’t believe it was found in the end! He’s so sweet with that missing tooth. =3


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

