Asparagus Tart

April 16, 2008 at 11:50 am | Posted in veggie side | 6 Comments
Tags: ,

When I saw this I knew I had to try it for my family. It’s an Asparagus Gruyere Tart. And it’s good.

My son was willing to smell, lick and even kiss the asparagus. In the end he said he didn’t like it. I tried to entice him by saying that his “pee” would smell funny if he ate it. Potty talk by mom at the dinner table, shocking, I know! But in the end he said no. Okay, no pressure.

My dear daughter also tried it with hesitation. At first she said she didn’t like it, but then, with out another word of encouragement from her mother, she ate a bit. Then another. Then another. Pretty soon she was peeling the asparagus off of her tart and eating it straight. Rounds of applause! She was declared “the winner”! A little healthy competition never hurt, right?

I think it helped that I used very thin/young asparagus. Also I started them first on my indoor grill and then put them on my tart to finish cooking.

The recipe is from Under the High Chair. Kudos to her for coming up with a veggie side dish that my 5 year old daughter enjoyed (along with her parents).

Asparagus Gruyère Tart

Flour, for work surface
1 sheet frozen puff pastry

5 1/2 ounces (2 cups) Gruyère cheese, shredded

1 1/2 pounds medium or thick asparagus

1 tablespoon olive oil

Salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. On a floured surface, roll the puff pastry into a 16-by-10-inch rectangle. Trim uneven edges. Place pastry on a baking sheet. With a sharp knife, lightly score pastry dough 1 inch in from the edges to mark a rectangle. Using a fork, pierce dough inside the markings at 1/2-inch intervals. Bake until golden, about 15 minutes.

Remove pastry shell from oven, and sprinkle with Gruyère. Trim the bottoms of the asparagus spears to fit crosswise inside the tart shell; arrange in a single layer over Gruyère, alternating ends and tips. Brush with oil, and season with salt and pepper. Bake until spears are tender, 20 to 25 minutes.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. What a riot! Bribing the kids with funny smelling pee. Ha! Well glad that most of you enjoyed it, it looks delicious!

  2. Yum, I love gruyere…I’ll definitely have to try this!

  3. i’m surprised the smelly pee trick didn’t work. isn’t that why everyone eats asparagus? 🙂

  4. I think it looks delicious! The things mom’s HAVE TO say to get their kids to eat better… so funny!

    Obviously you’re interested in health and wellness- take time to look at my site:

    http://www.iexfuze.net/juicyjuice

    I guarantee you’ll be glad you did!

  5. Looks delicious, Karen. Your son missed out.

  6. ooh! I have a new found love for asparagus. I’m going to try it. I don’t have a picky son to worry about, but a picky husband, if it isn’t carbs or fat..he hesitates. But….this is asparagus on TOP of carbs and fat….hmmm.

    Have to remember to add these ingredients to my grocery list.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

