man’s mud pie

May 19, 2008 at 8:56 pm | Posted in Dessert | 18 Comments
Tags: , ,

Today I celebrated my 36th birthday with lots of hugs, kisses, and homemade pictures from my kids. My hubby…he made me a mud pie…

Mud Pie

  • 1 pre-made chocolate pie crust
  • 1/2 gallon chocolate ice cream, softened
  • 1/2 gallon vanilla ice cream, softened
  • 1 container fudge frosting (like what you would buy to cover a cake)
  • 1 bag of candy, smashed and divided (he used butterfinger)
  • chocolate syrup
  • whipped cream

Fill the pie crust with chocolate ice cream so it is level with the top of the crust and allow it to set in the freezer.

In a medium size bowl, (about the same size as pie crust), line with plastic wrap and mix entire 1/2 gallon vanilla ice cream with 3/4 of the crushed candy. Place in the freezer until hard.

After the chocolate ice cream is hardened in the crust, spread the fudge frosting over the top and sprinkle with remaining candies. Put back in the freezer and allow it to harden.

Once both the chocolate ice cream crust and vanilla ice cream bowl has hardened, flip the vanilla ice cream mixture onto the top of the chocolate fudge candy sprinkled crust. Mold the edges together. Cover the entire pie with plastic wrap and allow to set in the freezer overnight.

Unwrap. Slice. Cover the top with whipped cream. Drizzle with chocolate syrup. Garnish with a cherry. And wish you wife a Happy Birthday.

18 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oh my goodness your DH is adorable!!!! What a fun thing to indulge in today!!!! Yeah!!

  2. Mud pie?!? YUM!! (and way better than a lemon angel food cake…) Way to go hubby!!

  3. I think I just cried a little…. looks wonderful!

  4. yes, i do believe he’s a keeper. 🙂

  5. Ok, my omelette did not look HALF as good as this pie! What a great hub. I really want to try that recipe.
    And Happy Birthday!!!

  6. He does make pretty good mud pies…I think it’s been about a year since I’ve had one though…I might have to finish that one off…he he.

  7. wow that is SO COOL!!! i really love it….i want a slice!! happy birthday!

  8. Happy birthday to you! That pie looks incredable.
    What a sweety your honey is!

  9. Happy Birthday – that seems like a good way to celebrate. My birthday is in July and I’m hoping for an authentic Black Forest Cake. That said, I’d happily play in this kind of mud instead!

  10. he made you that?

    My BF doesnt love me enough.

  11. Happy Belated Birthday! That pie looks crazy delicious! 🙂 mmm!

  12. Oh, YUM! What a perfect way to celebrate!

  13. Happy Belated Birthday to you! The mudpie looks fantastic! Your hubby is really killing us with the dripping chocolate!!

  14. Happy birthday!

  15. Happy birthday!!! That looks so good, I’m definitely going to have to try it this summer!

  16. Happy Birthday! That pie looks AMAZING.

  17. Happy belated birthday! Looks like you had an amazing treat!

  18. Happy BELATED Birthday! What a wonderful husband to attempt to impress you with his culinary skills! That pie looks decadent-did you enjoy every bite? 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

