not a fan of the opera

May 28, 2008 at 8:30 pm | Posted in Daring Bakers, Dessert | 17 Comments
Tags:

I’m not a fan of the opera, but I love musicals.  Les Miserables, Phantom of the Opera, Rent, Miss Saigon, My Fair Lady, Lion King, Beach Blanket Babylon…but the opera, I have no desire.

And maybe this was my problem when the Daring Bakers announced this month’s recipe, an Opera Cake.  The restrictions were no coffee or chocolate.  What, no coffee or chocolate in an Opera Cake?  That’s like an opera with no singing!  Or, at the very least, very bad singing.

So I dutifully made my opera cake with almond cake, vanilla bean butter cream, a caramel mousse and a caramel glaze.  Sure, the cake tasted alright.  But the cake didn’t rise.  Nope, not  one bit.  So my opera cake fell flat, literally.

There are, however, some amazing cakes out there.  So be sure to check out the other Opera Cakes.  Some, like my friend’s Passionfruit Opera Cake, require a curtain call.

17 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Not too worry my dear… I am glad this is over as well. I am proud of my efforts… but it was just too much for something that is just BLAH! Whatever the outcome… your cake looks great. 🙂 Good work!

  2. I think it looks great! (Although I did check out Gretchen’s… amazing!)

  3. Ahh…don’t be so hard on yourself, that looks yummy enough to me!

  4. Karen, good for you for trying and for posting. We will have another round at this soon. Did everyone enjoy the taste?

  5. come on now–i wouldn’t push it away.

    even though you IN NO WAY failed miserably, this reminds me of the words of homer j. simpson:
    “kids, you tried your best and you failed miserably. the lesson is, never try.” 🙂

  6. I like the idea of caramel. Mine didn’t turn out so great either.

  7. If you ever feel the need to box up your creations and send them to me…let me know! It still looks delish!

  8. The flavors sound wonderful – I’m sorry the cake didn’t rise for you. Great job anyway!

  9. I really like the caramel approach. I’m sorry it wasn’t more to your liking, but I’m glad you gave it a shot.

  10. what a bummer! All that work, and you weren’t happy with the results? That must have been so disappointing. I wasn’t able to get to this one this month, and I’m kind of thinking it was a good one to skip!

  11. Your glaze looks good , very glossy.
    I hope the next challenge is a better one.😉

  12. I wasnt that fond of the ligher version but would to try it in chocolate. It looks great!

  13. Love the addition of caramel. Sorry the cake didn’t rise to the challenge.

  14. Nice cake! I was not an opera fan either, but I’m looking very forward to the next challenge.

  15. I think your cake turned out quite lovely! And actually … I don’t think that joconde is supposed to rise very much. Nevertheless, great job!

  16. I love musicals, too! Going to CATS in a couple of weeks and then Wicked in July!!!! Your cake looks great…nice job!

  17. I’m glad you survived, and must admit to a similar level of, um, frustration with my flavor combination.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

