Great Vanilla Cupcake

May 29, 2008 at 9:40 pm | Posted in Cupcakes, Dessert | 11 Comments
Tags: ,

When my sister gave me The Great Cupcake Pan for my birthday last week, I didn’t need to wait long for a reason to try it out…my daughter lost her 5th tooth today!

So, in honor of my 5 year old daughter loosing her 5th baby tooth, I present…

THE GIANT VANILLA CUPCAKE!!!!

I used the recipe from the package and LOVED it! (Surprising for Williams Sonoma) This will be my go-to recipe when a fantastic tasting vanilla cake is needed.

Great Vanilla Cupcake

  • 3 2/3 all purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 1/3 cups unsalted butter
  • 2 1/3 cups granulated sugar
  • 5 eggs lightly beaten
  • 4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 1/3 cups skim milk

Have all the ingredients at room temperature.

Over a sheet of waxed paper, sift together the flour, baking powder and salt; set aside.

In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat the butter on medium speed until smooth and creamy, about 30 seconds. Add the granulated sugar and continue beating until light and fluffy, about 5 minutes, stopping the mixer occasionally to scrape down the sides of the bowl. Add the eggs a little at a time, beating well after each addition. Beat in the vanilla just until incorporated, about 1 minute.

Reduce the speed to low and add the flour mixture in three additions, alternating with the milk and beginning and ending with the flour. Beat each addition just until incorporated, stopping the mixer occasionally to scrape down the sides of the bowl.

Bake until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

This photo shows just how big this cupcake is. My daughter was thrilled! To find the Great Cupcake Pan, go to Williams Sonoma and get The Giant Cupcake Pan. The top and bottom are made of cake. And the top half is covered in marshmallow fondant (yep, I still need to work on it).

…the possibilities are endless with this one! Oh, and Pam for Baking is all I needed to get this cake to slide right.

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That looks FABULOUS! Yum Yum Yum! (I love the cake pedestal and candle too!) What a lucky little girl to have such a fun mom to celebrate life’s little milestones.

  2. wow…looks awesome. I covet this cake pan!

  3. How cute is that cupcake! I’ve been wanting a pan like that.

    Oh and the 5th tooth! Wow! Alexis has one that is slightly loose now. She’s beyond excited!🙂

  4. Love the (cup) cake! I thought about buying that pan but couldn’t justify it. It makes a lovely gift! I really need to try that mmf. Yours turned out so good. Lucky little girl!🙂 She should leave a piece of cake for the fairy and maybe she’ll get more bucks!!!😉

  5. What a fun cake! Right up my alley! Love it!

  6. I had to get one of those pans you made it looks so yummy!!! Can you possibly tell me what recipe you used for the marshmallow fondant?? IT looks awesome!!

  7. That is one seriously big cupcake… it is so big, in fact, that it may suffer from identity issues and think that it is a cake… I hope you put it out of it’s misery quickly! ( And I really hope it was yummy – because I am definately trying this recipe )

  8. I remember seeing this pan somewhere and thinking it would be fun to use. That first tooth… so special!

  9. This is the most awesome cake! How cute is this!! And your daughter is adorable in that pic, too!!

  10. oooh the super cupcake pan!! i always see this at stores and think…well i have no children. how fun is that!! looks fab.

    where are your brownies?!

  11. This is adorable. I need some new cake pans to play with!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

