solutions week 28

June 2, 2008 at 7:45 pm | Posted in Diet and Exercise, solutions | 8 Comments
Tags: , , ,

First things first…we have the Wii Fit and I LOVE IT! This game is seriously addicting.

My favorite game is Step Aerobics.

This is a far cry from Adam’s Advanced Step Class at Gold’s Gym in Santa Barbara (from 12 years ago), but it is fun. Picture guitar hero for your feet. You have to step up and down to the beat. The beginner level is combinations (and I use that term loosely) of basic step and over the top. And it’s slow, real slow. The advanced level is combinations of basic step, over the top, side step, and step kick.

…and now for some accountability…

Monday Solutions:

This morning I ran 2 miles and then walked 2 miles. We finished dinner at 6:45pm and then I went on a 30 minute walk. After the kids are in bed, it’s Wii Fit time…more photos and information at the end of this post. Wii fit for 1 hour 11 minutes including all strength training exercises, aerobic step and hula hoop, balance board and penguin. Fun Fun Fun!

Tuesday: Today I went to the gym and ran on the treadmill for 30 minutes (2.65 miles).

Wednesday: 2 mile walk this morning. Finished eating at 6pm. Went on a 25 minute walk with the dog and then played Wii Fit for 1 hour (all balance and aerobics games).

Thursday: Ran on the treadmill for 30 minutes (2.7 miles). Then went in to the weight room for walking lunges and arms. Finished eating dinner at 6:30pm and then went on a 25 minute walk. I would love to blog about the peach cobbler from the other night. But it requires a piece to be cut and heated up, so I’ll skip the food blogging tonight and opt for some more wii fit!

Friday:  2 mile run then a 2 mile walk this morning.  1 hour of wii fit this afternoon.

I had the camera close by to snap a bunch of photos. Here are some results from the strength training exercises:

After the strength training exercises I did the advanced step and got this score, my highest yet!

Here I am doing the hula hoop…

Tonight I did a total of 1 hour 11 minutes…

And here are my latest BMI and balance score results…

Seriously, if you are thinking about getting one of these it is a LOT of fun. However, I believe you have to remember that it is just a game. It does not or can not replace my cardio.

I remember someone once saying that pilates is the icing on the exercise cake. Well, if pilates is the icing, then the wii fit is kinda like the sprinkles. It just adds that element of fun.

There are moments of frustration when the board does not read my body or step. But I’m on carpet, and old carpet at that. I have learned where my carpet is firmest and place my board there.

My kids love it! There are so many fun games for them to enjoy. But it’s not a game that we play as a family. If we are taking turns, the best thing to do is go into the “trial” mode. There you cannot track your progress, but you can take turns. But being in the trial mode limits what games you can play.

When setting up the Wii Fit, it measures your body and then gives you a BMI score. This score determines whether you are overweight or not…and the game says so. I am glad my kids are young and do not know this concept yet…but I can’t help but think of the healthy athletic pre-teens out there who hop on this thing and it tells them that they are overweight. I think that there is enough of that coming from society, they don’t need it from a video game as well.

All that said, for us, it is fun and I think it works. Yes, I have actually been sore from all of the hula hooping. Plus, rather than sitting on the sofa watching TV for an hour in the evening, my hubby and I are up and moving. And that is a good thing.

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. LOVE IT! Any “grapevine” or “helicopter” moves?!? I can’t wait for the “more pictures and information to come!”

  2. i’m so jealous–that looks like an incredible amount of fun! i guess i’ve been living in a cave–i had no idea there were game options like this!

  3. I’ve been trying to decide whether or not to buy this. My brother in law tipped me off that if you don’t fit the (his words) “Japanese ideal body type” then it will tell you you’re overweight. I have an eight year old daughter that is leaning toward heavy and I go to great pains to encourage our healthy living, as a family, in the hopes that we can keep her weight in check w/o damaging her self esteem. I’d hate for Wii to undermine that.

    But I LOVE step aerobics and the hula hooping sure looks fun 🙂

    I’m really glad you decided to post about this today. I wish I could make up my mind whether or not to get it….sigh.

  4. Jenn, I’ve read that the wii fit is unable to calculate a child’s BMI accurately. If you explained this before-hand would she be okay? It is such a fun game.

  5. We just got the wii console. We bought Tiger Woods golf and now, Guitar hero. I’ll tell my husband I want wii fit next. Thanks for the review!

  6. Megan- I’m so jealous you have guitar hero! Totally, get the wii fit. It is a great game! Oh, and how about the wii sports? My favorite is the tennis game.

  7. Fun! I agree with your comment that we really don’t need additional messages about our images constantly thrown at us. My favorite part about this concept is that it’s reintroducing the idea that activity is fun–isn’t the best kind of exercise that we love doing?

  8. I too love wii fit and tend to get up early to “work out” 😉 I too feel that telling a teen or heavier child that they are overweight is not good.
    I need to loose quite a bit of weight and for me it has started me on the way to regular exercising. I do not have the confidence to go to a class, but in time I am sure I will.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

