Flag Cake

June 13, 2008 at 8:54 am | Posted in Dessert | 14 Comments
Tags: ,

Another Ina Garten recipe, another pound of butter.  And all of that butter goes to celebrate Flag Day!  Okay, really I just wanted an excuse to try this cake.  It was super good.  The flavors were fabulous.  The cream cheese frosting was delish.  And the berries were a fun addition.

This cake was fun to make.  I used a big star tip (1M) to create the white lines and outline the flag.  It came together pretty quickly.  I did make sure to wash and thoroughly dry my  berries before putting them on my cake.  I think this helped them to not “bleed” into the white frosting.  It looked good and tasted good 3 days after I had made it.  Plus, it makes a ton.  Perfect for a party!

My daughter is a big berry girl, so she added some extra berries to her slice.

Flag Cake

by Ina Garten

18 tablespoons (2 1/4 sticks) unsalted butter at room temperature
3 cups sugar
6 extra-large eggs at room temperature
1 cup sour cream at room temperature
1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
3 cups flour
1/3 cup cornstarch
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
For the icing:
1 pound (4 sticks) unsalted butter at room temperature
1 1/2 pounds cream cheese at room temperature
1 pound confectioners’ sugar, sifted
1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
To assemble:
2 half-pints blueberries
3 half-pints raspberries

Heat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Butter and flour an 18 by 13 by 1 1/2-inch sheet pan.

Cream the butter and sugar in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment on high speed, until light and fluffy. On medium speed, add the eggs, 2 at a time, then add the sour cream and vanilla. Scrape down the sides and stir until smooth.

Sift together the flour, cornstarch, salt, and baking soda in a bowl. With the mixer on low speed, add the flour mixture to the butter mixture until just combined. Pour into the prepared pan. Smooth the top with a spatula. Bake in the center of the oven for 20 to 30 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean. Cool to room temperature.

For the icing, combine the butter, cream cheese, sugar, and vanilla in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, mixing just until smooth.

Spread three-fourths of the icing on the top of the cooled sheet cake. Outline the flag on the top of the cake with a toothpick. Fill the upper left corner with blueberries. Place 2 rows of raspberries across the top of the cake like a red stripe. Put the remaining icing in a pastry bag fitted with a star tip and pipe two rows of white stripes below the raspberries. Alternate rows of raspberries and icing until the flag is completed. Pipe stars on top of the blueberries.

14 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That looks great! I’ve made a flag cake before, but not Ina’s version. It looks fabulous!

  2. Ooh! I’ve made flag cakes before too, but I’m so curious how this one tasted! I bet it’s so yum.

  3. PW has a flag cake too..between the two of you..I might just have to do this for the 4th this year!

  4. I’ve been dying to try Ina’s flag cake for a long time! I was hoping maybe this 4th of July, but my baby will be a week old that day so I’m guessing that won’t happen🙂 Maybe later in the month. It looks great!

  5. Wonderful! So what was the excuse to make it? I have seen pictures of things like these, but have never done it.

  6. I have made this cake before and can vouch for it’s yumminess. Mine did not look as great as yours though. Nice pipping!

  7. mmm… that looks really yummy.

  8. how very patriotic of you, and most impressive piping of the “delish” cream cheese frosting (that should go without saying–when is cream cheese frosting ever not delish??)!🙂

  9. Very pretty. And that piece of cake looks mighty delicious!

  10. That looks really beautiful! Anything with cream cheese gets an A in my book. Maybe I’ll make this for the 4th of July…

  11. This looks so heavenly! How many days until the 4th?

    My question: can strawberries (sliced or whatever) be substituted for the raspberries? I would enjoy the raspberries but my kids would eat the strawberries better!

  12. What a cute cake! It would be fun to make for the 4th for sure.

  13. you could enter that bad boy in our 3rd Annual 4th of July Flag Cake Smackdown!!!

    chickchatradio.com — click on the blog and scroll down to June to see the call for entry! (I didn’t wanna stick a self serving link in your blog!!)

  14. Hello webmaster
    I would like to share with you a link to your site
    write me here preonrelt@mail.ru


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

