cake and sprinkles

June 19, 2008 at 10:35 pm | Posted in Diet and Exercise | 9 Comments
Tags: ,

If yoga and pilates are the frosting on the exercise cake, then wii fit is the sprinkles. So today I guess I had some cake and sprinkles with no frosting.

My day started with a trip to the gym. I remembered Eating Bird Food‘s (how cute is that name by the way?) post about walking on the treadmill at 4.5 and thought I’d give it a try…so hard! I found it actually easier to run.

So I ran 2.5 miles and then walked another mile. After that I hit the weight room and worked my triceps, shoulders, back and did some leg presses. Then I grabbed a med ball and did some ab work.

This evening it was time for some sprinkles with the Wii Fit! This is a very fun game. My family is so cute! I love this opening screen. Oh, and my son is a huge Star Wars fan so that’s actually C3-P0 playing.

I started with some balance board games…

…ya, I can’t do this one…darn bubble on the river…

then some aerobics…

that’s right, “calorie incinerator”…

and I finished with some strength training…

…whoo-hoo…Bodybuilder!

I played for one hour and four minutes.

Better than sitting on my butt watching tv or playing on the computer!

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. My boyfriend keeps trying to convince me to go in with him to buy a Nintendo Wii. I would really like to, I just don’t know how much I would really use it. But if I had this new game I might use it a lot!

    BTW- walking at 4.5 is the fastest I walk at on the treadmill, otherwise I just run. But I do have long legs so that probably helps.🙂

  2. yay for the wii fit!! we just got one🙂 tell me the trick for taking a good pic of the TV please🙂 ive been trying to get a good Wii family pic, and they are all covered in lines…

    way to go on all the calorie roasting!!

  3. Brittany- the Wii is a lot of fun! We love the “sport” and “play games too. And if you are a Star Wars fan, it’s a winner. I’d love to have your long legs. My 5’4” height doesn’t help with the walking speed. 4.0 is my limit.

    Jen- Here’s what I have my camera set on…P, ISO sensitivity 100, with flash. I have no idea if this is better or worse than auto.

  4. Wooo Hoo, is right! Good job, Karen!

  5. Wow, what a day! A 2.5 mile run would wear me out!
    So great that you got a Wii! My sis want’s one for her b-day, but they’re kinda hard to get now! You’re so lucky!

  6. I had no idea the Wii had exercise programs! But I do have friends have the bowling games and some others and they say it’s tons of fun and great exercise. Very cool!

  7. I have been reading your blog for a while and thought I would tag you, hope that’s ok. Keep it up with the wii fit, I love it too.

  8. who comes up with this stuff? whoever is behind games and programs like that deserves a big ol’ pat on the back, as do you. you’re an inspiration!🙂

  9. oh my gosh I am so jealous. i want one. now. haha


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

