going green: water bottles

July 2, 2008 at 11:15 pm | Posted in going green | 9 Comments
Tags: , ,

Making an organic cupcake is okay and all, but there is more I can be doing, much more.  And with all of the news about buying bottled water, I knew I had to do better.

Trouble was, I was on the hunt for a particular water filtration system for quite some time, and finally found it on sale ($25) at Target in Sacramento.

I love this Pur Water Filtration System because it fits in my refrigerator nicely, holds enough water to last my family an entire day, and my kids can help themselves!

Here is our family of water bottles.  We are especially fond of the nalgene water bottles.

I would love to invest in some sigg water bottles, but at $20 bucks a pop they are a bit more extravagant then I’m willing to spend at the moment.

Mom tip:  I considered buying my kids a kid sized water bottle, don’t bother.  My son took his water bottle to the pool today and drank almost 20 ounces!  The small size just wouldn’t have been enough.  And water bottles come in pretty colors too, satisfying the most discriminating 5 year olds!

So I’m wondering if you are still using single-serve plastic water bottles or if you have made the switch to a water filtration system and some eco-friendly water bottles?

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. We love our sigg bottles – they have no taste at all – it’s amazing! Our tap water here is really nice, so no need to filter. I like the sigg bottles because I was sick of dragging a ton of pet bottles to be recycled every week! My summer drink “thing” has been glass jars of sun tea. The jars are pretty small – maybe 20 ounces – so I throw one tea bag in each one, top them up with water and line them all up on my porch. The bottles make a nice serving size and we get the added fun of feeling very “southern”!

  2. Yay for reusable water bottles! My husband and I have actually been using a brita filter and water bottles since college (at that point, out of financial necessity) but continue it to this day.

    We sort of have a nalgene problem..seriously I have four, and Scott has 3.

    Love the pic of your daughter with her pink water bottle. Adorable

  3. Hey, glad you found one! We have been bottle free for a little over a year now! Good for you🙂

  4. We’ve put a filter on the cold water line coming into the kitchen sink, and my son has sippy cups, and I have about 4 of the Nalgene bottles. In fact, one of them came as an end-of-the-school-year gift from my local school district! I still occasionally buy the plastic bottles, but they also go straight into the recycling when I’m done.

  5. good for you! i still use a bottle occasionally, but i make sure to reuse it several times before recycling it.🙂

  6. hey great that you switched!

    btw you should read up about the controversy with the plastic nalgene uses, pretty scary stuff. we steer away from them just to be safe …

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2008/04/18/nalgene-to-stop-using-tox_n_97503.html

  7. Brooke- yes, we have to be careful about the type of plastic. As I understand it, Nalgene was under fire because of the BPA plastic, now their bottles are BPA free. Probably would be good to get rid of those old bottles. We are ordering four more of these: http://www.nalgene-outdoor.com/store/detail.aspx?ID=1208

  8. Hi,
    It’s great to see you drinking from your own bottles because that’s so much greener (and cheaper). Please do check out what the other commenters have said about BPA. In Canada, it has been banned as a toxic substance. There is no controversy here because our government deemed it a toxic substance. So I returned all my BPA baby bottles to the store and got a full refund so I could buy glass or non BPA bottles. The stores are even taking back really old bottles, no questions asked. Even Nalgene bottles. I don’t know what the US is doing about it, but I think you should not be using BPA bottles with children especially. They’re more susceptible to the cancers. Especially if a BPA bottle filled with water has been left in the sun or in a car. The chemicals leach out into the water when it’s heated up. Check out the bottom of the bottle and if it has a number “7” on it inside a triangle, it’s got BPA. Usually BPA bottles are clear and they come in fun colours. Too bad. My kids now use Sigg or Klean Kanteen and you can use the Rubbermaid bottles that are not clear.

  9. Step up in style and quality from the plastic sippy cup. All SIGG bottles are tested 100-percent safe with NO leaching. All SIGG bottles are durable


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

