Classic Cupcakes

July 5, 2008 at 8:32 am | Posted in Cupcakes | 8 Comments
Tags: ,

I know, with me it’s either jello jello jello or cupcakes cupcakes cupcakes. Not a lot of variety. But I’m a traditionalist, and when I know something works I stick to it. Like these cupcakes for example.

Chocolate Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting

beatty’s chocolate cake
from barefoot contessa at home, by ina garten

  • 1 3/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 3/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 2 t baking soda
  • 1 t baking powder
  • 1 t salt
  • 1 cup nonfat milk*
  • 1 T vinegar*
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 1 cup hot coffee

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line cupcake pan with paper liners. I get 36 cupcakes from this recipe.

Sift the flour, sugar, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder, and salt into standing mixer’s bowl. In another bowl, combine the milk, vinegar, oil, eggs and vanilla. Turn mixer on low and slowly add the wet ingredients to the dry. Keep the mixer on low and slowly pour in the hot coffee. Be sure to scrape down the sides and mix again.

Because this is a wet batter, I pour it into a 4-cup measuring bowl and then pour it into my cupcake liners. Fill 1/2 way to 2/3 full.

Bake at 350 degrees for 15 minutes. Allow to cool completely on wire racks before frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting

  • 1 stick of unsalted butter softened to room temp
  • 1 block of cream cheese softened to room temp
  • 1 box of confectioners sugar
  • 1 tsp of vanilla

Cream the butter and cream cheese. With the mixer on low, add the sugar slowly. Then the vanilla.  The frosting made enough for 24 cupcakes.  I would make 50% more to frost all 36.

I put the frosting in a piping bag with a big star tip. Start by going around the outside of the cupcake and then work your way up to the center. Store covered in the refrigerator.

When you are ready, bring the cupcakes to room temperature and decorate with sprinkles and fruit.

I brought these to our neighbor’s Fourth of July party and they were a hit. The first dessert gone and finished (the jello was second, of course!)


8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. “Gone and finished” — I bet! Those look delicious! I love how you decorated them each differently and the star tiered plates are perfect!

  2. wow- those look perfect. i tried to ice a cake once and was a disaster. i dont know how people do it so well.

  3. Karen, those cupcakes look delicious, I think I have all the ingredients in the house so I will have a go over the weekend. Lovely cake stand too.

  4. Simply beautiful, Nice stand, love Barefoot Contessa recipes:)

  5. Yummy looking cupcakes! I like your cake stand too!

  6. cupcakes over jello for me, please. especially if there’s cream cheese frosting. and hey–there’s nothing wrong with being a traditionalist!

  7. Your cupcakes look awesome!

  8. Very cute cupcakes. I love the star platter too. So pretty.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

