R2-D2 Cupcake Toppers

July 6, 2008 at 8:30 am | Posted in Cupcakes, Dessert | 15 Comments
Tags: ,

My son is a HUGE Star Wars fan. So it was no surprise when he said he wanted a Star Wars party. My mind immediately went to the cake, wondering how I would pull it off. (Did I mention my kids turn 6 next Sunday?)

Then I remembered Bakerella’s Mother’s Day Post and wondered if I could use the same technique to create R2-D2’s…it worked!!!!

Here’s what I did…First I searched the computer for an R2-D2 that I could (or hoped I could) draw. Once I found it I traced it onto a sheet of parchment paper using a permanent marker.

Next, I cut and taped my flipped parchment paper onto an upside down sheet pan. (I worried the edges would impede my piping skills and I didn’t want the marker to run into the candy).

Then, I melted some Winton candy melts, stirred in some blue coloring and started with the outline and blue squares and shapes. Whoops, while piping the candy I realized that R2-D2 does not look right flipped so I improvised with my squares and circles.

Again, I melted more candy melts to fill in the gray areas. Then, more melted candy for the bright blue circle.

Again, melt more candy melts to fill in the white areas. Make sure you bang the pan against the table or counter to release any air bubbles and force the candy into the nooks and crannys.

Finally, patience patience patience as these set up in the refrigerator.

These easily moved once they set up on the parchment paper. I had no trouble flipping them over with my fingers.

So, I am quite happy with how these turned out. Now, I know that they are not wonderful, but they will make for a very happy 6 year old boy! Plus, I have 6 little R2-D2’s that will look great on my son’s cupcakes. Thank goodness we didn’t invite too many kids. Although this didn’t take too long.

I have these sitting in an airtight container in the freezer, but I am slightly worried about breakage. So, I will probably make more again this week, just to be on the safe side.

15 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I too love star wars, your R2-D2’s look fantastic and I am sure the children will be thrilled with them.

  2. Don’t you just love the ideas we can get from others! Hope your son has a great birthday! It seems like only yesterday when my oldest was so young – and he just became a married man yesterday – 10 days before he turns 23! I can still remember his younger years clearly like it was just yesterday.

  3. Awesome! Glad you found something that works and looks awesome. I know my boys will love them🙂

  4. thats one lucky son. (and I bet you are glad he isn’t a fan of something harder to draw in candy melts.)

  5. oh, also, thanks for adding me to your reader.

  6. wow, he better appreciate that. i would have just bought a cake, tried to pipe something that resembled a robot on it, and then tried to convince him it was r2d2’s cousin cause it probably wouldnt look anything like him.

    or paid someone to do it.

  7. looks awesome.

  8. geez, until I was a mother, I never thought I’d go to such lengths to create cutesy things my kids love. Way to go with R2D2! You’re a great mom for having the patience to do the little robot and I’m sure your son and the kids will love them!

  9. What a blessed little boy he is to have you as his mommy! Nice job.

  10. awesome. c3po next?🙂

  11. Those are awesome! I’m sure your son will love them. I know I would!

  12. Grace- my son was wondering the same thing!

  13. Those are so cool!

  14. […] Here’s how I made these R2-D2 Cupcake Toppers. […]

  15. I found your site through a Google Image search for Star Wars cupcakes. Thanks for sharing this technique and your pictures. They look fantastic! I may try this for my son’s party.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

