Red, White and Blue Pie

July 7, 2008 at 8:24 pm | Posted in Dessert, Pies | 11 Comments
Tags: , ,

Why why why did I enter our church’s Pie Contest? I don’t do pies! I’m no good at the crust! The filling always runs!

And why did I encourage my girlfriends to enter? They are all master bakers. Quick thinking. Creative. Me, I get by.

Hoping to avoid disaster and total humiliation, I am brushing up on my pie baking skills this week. And thank goodness for Diannes Dishes. She posted a beautiful looking Red White and Blue Pie on July 4th that I just had to try…FABULOUS!!!

So Dianne, I just have to say Thank You!

This pie was good

to

the

last

bite.

And if anyone knows of a pie recipe that would be good for me to try, please pass it along. I need all the practice I can get before Saturday!

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Yum! That looks perfect! And who are you kidding… YOU are the “master baker”!

  2. wow, those look great! Great job Dianne! Hey, I like that name!😉

  3. You really are the master baker! The pie looks great!
    I love this recipe for chocolate chip cookie pie recipe from Bakerella:
    http://bakerella.blogspot.com/2008/04/chocolate-chip-cookie-pie-oh-my.html
    It’s really delicious!

  4. i think colette is referring to nestle tollhouse pie …i make this every year for thanksgiving. it’s always the first pie to go and people beg for more, raving all the way. and they have NO idea how easy it is. and with chocolate you can’t go wrong.

  5. hehe….I made a pie this weekend, it was the easiest thing I’ve ever made. I’m not sure what the rules are to your contest (as in, this is BARELY) made from scratch. It was new to me, maybe people have been doing this for years:

    Ice Cream Pie:
    Prepare a graham cracker crust (or buy one, ssshhh I won’t tell).

    Let 1 quart of some form of chocolate ice cream come to room temp (I used Rocky Road, but I really think the possiblities are endless).

    Mix 8oz of crunchy peanut butter with ice cream.

    Pour into pie crust…..re-freeze.

    I served it that way, but I think the beauty is how you could dress it up, whip cream, chocolate or caramel sauce, nuts. Ooh! Then you could call it Sundae Pie (and that would be a great pun for church!)

    Again, maybe this is something that people already do, but It is offcially my new summer pie. 🙂

  6. Glad you enjoyed the pie! And good luck in your contest…I hope you win!🙂

  7. good luck in the contest–i’m sure you’ll do a fine job, whatever you decide to make. do your friends have bloggers like us to support them and cheer them on? i think not!🙂

  8. You are SO the “master baker!!” I’m suddenly re-thinking plain, old, boring apple pie…

  9. How about the red/white/and blueberry pie in my blog? Its especially special because of the white chocolate in the bottom of the crust (which also helps keep the strawberries from making the crust soggy!

  10. […] you so pie July 10, 2008 at 12:45 pm | In Dessert, essay | Tags: pie See, I told you so, I’m no good at pies.  Case in point, this chocolate cream pie.  Or, as my daughter […]

  11. Colette, Allison, and Honey: Thanks for the pie ideas! I am drooling over all of your suggestions, just waiting for it to cool down a bit before I fire up my oven again.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

