Award Winning Pie?

July 12, 2008 at 8:41 pm | Posted in Pies | 11 Comments
Tags: ,

How embarrassing! My goal was to make an edible pie that would be eaten rather than thrown into the garbage…I never expected (or even hoped for) 1st Prize!

Today was the annual church picnic and pie baking contest. There were a lot of beautiful and delicious pies out there.

One lady brought a cherry pie, made with cherries picked from her backyard tree, pie fresh from the oven, in her Longabeger pie basket no less!

Angela brought a double crust apple pie. It was perfect, just as apple pie should be. It reminded me of my grandmother’s apple pie. (now that’s high praise!)

Heather (age 7) brought a creamy key lime pie. It was a great balance of sweetness with a little zing from the key lime zest.

There were lots of berry pies. Several apple pies. And a couple chocolate pies. Including mine.

Yes, I finally decided to bring the chocolate cream pie. I considered the blueberry pie or red, white, and blue pie…but time was of the pressing so I chose the easiest and fastest pie to make. So the Chocolate Cream it was.

For the crust, I wanted a bit more crust than the original. Here what I did:

Chocolate Cookie Crust

  • 1 cup chocolate cookie crumbs (I used Cats Cookies from Trader Joes)
  • 2 Tbsp sugar
  • 1/2 cup melted butter

Mix ingredients in a bowl. Press into a 9 inch pie pan. Bake at 325 for 10 minutes. Cool to room temperature.

Chocolate Pie Filling (from Alton Brown at Food Network)

  • 2 cups chocolate chips
  • 1/3 cup coffee liqueur
  • 1 block silken tofu
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon honey

Place a small metal bowl over a saucepan with simmering water. Melt the chocolate and coffee liqueur in the bowl. Stir in vanilla.

Combine the tofu, chocolate mixture, and honey in the blender jar. Liquefy until smooth.

Pour the filling into the crust and refrigerate. Once set, cover with plastic wrap and let it set in the refrigerator overnight.

The Whipped Cream was easy. Just take 1 1/2 cups heavy whipping cream and 2 Tbsp of sugar and whip to firm peaks. I spooned the cream on top.

But, the topping was the show stopper. I covered the cream in chocolate curls. You’ll have to click the link to see the photos and use your imagination to picture the chocolate curls on the sweetened whipped cream.

Chocolate Curls (from Pioneer Woman Cooks)

  • 1 1/2 cups chocolate chips
  • 2 Tbsp crisco

Melt the chocolate chips and crisco together in a bowl over simmering water (double boiler). Pour the chocolate mixture onto the back of a baking sheet. Allow it to set. Using a metal spatula, scrape the chocolate.

Sorry, no photos of my award winning pie…what a bad bad food blogger am I!

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Yeah! Yahoo! Yipee! I’m still beaming for you! Couldn’t be prouder of my dear friend! Your baking skills ROCK!

  2. i’m not surprised at all–great recipe, great execution, and CHOCOLATE. congrats!🙂

  3. It was awesome, a great tasting pie, and you deserved the win!! Good job!

  4. Congratulations! All your hard work really paid off!

  5. Well deserved! Congrats!

  6. I’ve made Alton’s pie before and Jamison and I loved it! No one believed me when I told them it had tofu in it! Congrats and your pie looks fabulous!🙂

  7. Congratulations!! You’re such a great baker, you shouldn’t doubt yourself! I’d love to try a piece of your pie, it looks so yummy! The chocolate curls must’ve looked awesome.

  8. tofu AND first prize! Now that’s talent! Congrats! I’m bummed I missed the picnic and a look at your GORGEOUS pie!

  9. I just read all the pie post and got a good chuckle. I’m so trying this pie!!!

  10. […] must have known it was coming. Photos of the winning chocolate cream pie […]

  11. […] 2 cups chocolate chips, 1/3 cup coffee liqueur 1 block silken tofu 1 teaspoon vanilla extract 1 tablespoon honey 1 prepared chocolate wafer crust Place a small metal bowl over a saucepan with simmering water. Melt the chocolate and coffee liqueur in the bowl. Stir in vanilla. Combine the tofu, chocolate mixture, and honey in the blender jar. Liquefy until smooth. Pour the filling into the crust and refrigerate for 2 hours, or until the filling is set. Other peoples Chocolate pie Baking Bites Cocoajava Brownie Points Do Better […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

