Surprise Sangria

July 20, 2008 at 8:23 pm | Posted in drinks | 9 Comments
Tags: ,

We celebrated my dad’s 60th birthday with a Surprise Party on Saturday. Rather than cakes, cupcakes or pies, I was put in charge of the Sangria.

This my was first attempt at making Sangria, so I followed my sister and brother-in-law’s specific instructions. First, I checked out Bobby Flay’s White Peach Sangria.

My hubby went to Trader Joes for the spanish white wine, triple sec, brandy and a jar of peaches. Then it was on to Costco for a white peaches, oranges and apples. We also picked up pineapple juice and orange juice. We were expecting about 40 people, so I made the recipe x6. My hubby and I had a little sangria making party the night before…

White Peach Sangria (for 6 servings)

From Bobby Flay at Food Network

1 bottle Spanish dry wine
3 ounces brandy
2 ounces triple sec
1 cup orange juice
1 cup pineapple juice
4 ounces simple syrup (equal parts sugar and water brought to a boil for 2 minutes in a small saucepan) and cooled
3 ounces peach puree (put jarred peaches in a blender with a little syrup and blend until smooth.)

Fresh white peaches, oranges, and apples sliced

Place all ingredients in a pitcher and stir to mix. Refrigerate at least 24 hours or up to 48 hours.

I enjoyed it best ladled into a glass with the sliced peaches, apples and orange slices floating.

When the party was over, we enjoyed munching on the left over fruit…yum!

My dad’s 60th Birthday Party was a lot of fun! He we completely surprised. I met a lot of my parent’s funny friends and it was so nice spending time with my family. Here’s a photo from that day…

Starting in back on the left is my hubby, me, my mom, dad, aunt, uncle, (gorgeous and expecting) sister, brother in law, and brother. Then in the front row is my daughter, son, grandfather, grandmother, and grandmother.

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. How pretty! You have a great blog🙂

  2. Oh! I LOVE the family photo! Everyone looks fabulous! Thanks for sharing!!

  3. The sangria looks really good, what an awesome idea!

  4. What a beautiful family you have. I like the family gatherings, so much fun, so many memories! Oh and the sangria looks nice as well.

  5. The Sangria looks so yummy! I’ll have to try it at my next cocktail party–you know, when the boys go to college.

    Oh, and what a lovely family picture!

  6. i love your family portait! it’s a good-looking group of people.🙂
    meanwhile, i just had sangria for the first time a few weeks ago and quickly became obsessed. i think it’s the perfect summer drink. bravo!🙂

  7. Karen…your family is so cute!
    Chrissy looks so beautiful preggars.
    Life is good!

  8. Sounds like a delicious drink to serve to your loved ones. Your family picture is lovely, everyone looks so relaxed. You must have had a great day.

  9. What a beautiful family you have. *tear I think it’s time for me to plan a family reunion!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

