Slow and Thoughtful

July 22, 2008 at 6:49 pm | Posted in Diet and Exercise | 6 Comments
Tags: ,

For me, the the lower I sink emotionally, the higher my food intake is.

The more chaotic my life feels, the more chaotic my eating becomes.

I have been mindlessly eating for days. Spiraling further and further downward. So today kept a photo journal of my food.

It forced me to slow down. To stop and think about what I was putting in my mouth. It made me more thoughtful of my eating; what I was eating and how much.

Here’s what I had for breakfast, steel cut oats with a splash of nonfat milk and a white peach.

Snack was a banana and stoneyfield go-gurt. I also had a (non-photoed) tall soy latte.

Lunch was turkey, ham, brie, lettuce, tomato and mustard on sourdough; grapes and another white peach. I ended up eating this sandwich in two halves. The half with the brie, ham and tomatoes was excellent.

Dinner was a salad, grapes, red bell pepper and bread. I had about a cup more of the salad.

At the gym I spent 35 minutes walking at in incline on the treadmill. I also did 15 minutes on the elliptical and finished with abs and push-ups.

And now, at the end of the day, I can say I am feeling more at peace with myself and life’s circumstances. But I’m still feeling low, so I’ll probably do this little exercise again tomorrow.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I almost blogged this same attitude today! I feel you! When I’m down or tired or irritated, my food intake soars. It looks like you had a well balanced, healthy day. And your sanwhiches look delicious!

  2. I’ve kept a fairly accurate food diary for a couple of years now, and I’m really intrigued by your concept of making it visual. I’m betting that *would* make me think.

    Thanks for sharing. I do hope life calms down for you soon.

  3. I hope things get better for you! I think that I eat more when I am bored. If I am stressed or depressed I don’t eat at all. Good thing my life is pretty busy! ahhaah

  4. Oh-I hope tomorrow is a better day! It looks like you ate well (healthy), though! I love brie in anything!

  5. Glad your feeling better! I hope life continues to get more positive for you!!

    On a happy note, all of your pies the past couple posts have looked absolutely gorgeous and mouth-watering!! Your baking is always so beautiful!! And those dog candies on the cupcakes are so so cute!!

  6. i am so sorry that things have been tough. i have been eating horribly too. hope things settle soon.

    blessings on your head~
    michele


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

