slowing to plate

July 23, 2008 at 7:00 pm | Posted in Diet and Exercise | 7 Comments
Tags:

Well, I’ve noticed that the process of plating my food before I eat really makes me slow down and be deliberate about what I’m eating. The simple act of a photo food journal has caused me to eat more fruits and veggies, think about what I’m eating, and plan out my food.

Here was breakfast. A bowl of steel cut oats with a splash of milk, sliced banana, coconut and almonds. Had about 3 bites left over.

I had a snack of grapes and a granola bar. (I also had half a peach)

Lunch was an open faced sourdough sandwich with either a slice of ham or turkey and all the trimmings, including brie cheese.

I had that slice of the chocolate cream pie (it’s okay ’cause it has tofu, right?)

Then dinner was turkey breast (thanks for the recipe Dianne), salad, half an orange (and my kids’ sourdough crusts). I added maybe a cup more salad to my plate.

I was at the gym for an hour this morning.  Started with 35 minutes of speed walking at an incline.  Then did squats, abs, arms and planks.

You know, I woke up feeling much better today. I had more energy. Had a better outlook on life. Felt more like myself.

Could it have been the time spent with girlfriend’s in Bible study and prayer last night? Or possibly the prayers of a faithful friend who checks in with me on a daily basis. Maybe it was a shift in less eating and more moving. Think it was all three?

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. coconut sounds like a great addition to oatmeal. mmmm.

    I love your weekly solutions by the way🙂

  2. That whole day looks like it was full of delicious food! Especially the pie! I think that feeling better was probably a combination of all three.🙂

  3. The chocolate pie looks awesome!!

    I am in total agreement that journaling in pictures is much more accountable, to actually see what you are eating. After all the saying is a picture is worth a thousand words.

    Great job!

  4. Glad you tried the turkey. Hope you enjoyed it!🙂

  5. i think it was the combo of all three. prayer is mighty powerful, but so is exercise.🙂 good for you!

  6. so glad to know that you are feeling better & more like yourself!!

    it’s all that stuff put together…getting into the Word, prayers of peeps who love ya, & putting a little positive action into life (instead focusing on worries,fears, & things we can’t control away…why is that so hard for our little human hearts???)

    i’ll be praying still & we’ll talk next week!

    blessings on your head~
    michele

  7. Thank you so much for the ward! It really put a smile on my face. I’ll go and award it to others!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

