Coconut Cream Pies Gone Bye

August 18, 2008 at 8:06 pm | Posted in Pies | 15 Comments
Tags: ,

When my dad asked for a coconut cream pie, I couldn’t refuse. After days of research, I finally settled on a recipe found on All Recipes (one of my favorite online sources). The original recipe calls for 3 cups of heavy cream, but after reading the reviews I followed the suggestion of 1 1/2 cups half-and-half and 1 1/2 cups coconut milk…it was a hit!

Actually, they were a hit! I decided to try out my new 5″ pie tins found at Sur La Table, (or as I like to think of it, Disneyland for the baker).

My cute little pie crusts (because I cannot resist any dessert in miniature).

Look how darling! There is nothing like diving into your own pie.

Did I mention there is toasted coconut inside and out?

Coconut Cream Pie (from All Recipes)

  • 1 1/2 cups half-and-half
  • 1 1/2 cups coconut milk*
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup flaked coconut, toasted and divided
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • Prepared Pie Shell, baked
  • Freshly Whipped Cream

In a medium saucepan, combine half-and-half, coconut milk, eggs, sugar, flour and salt. Bring to a boil over low heat, stirring constantly. Remove from heat, and stir in 3/4 cup of the coconut and the vanilla extract. Pour into pie shell and cover with plastic wrap. Chill for 4 hours of overnight. Top with freshly whipped cream and remaining toasted coconut.

*The first time I tried this recipe I used this coconut milk. No good. The coconut cream was way too thick.

Then I tried this coconut milk. The coconut cream filling was smooth and creamy.

And if you are still reading this post and wondering where I’ve been or what I’ve been up to…here’s a recap…

A trip to Santa Barbara for my sister’s baby shower. She is one of those beautiful pregnant girls that you hate, but then you get to know her and find our she is one of the sweetest people in the world. Check out Angela’s site for more photos, and you’ll know why people (no, not me!) would be jealous.

A trip to Donner Lake for a family vacation. One of our favorite activities is crawdad fishing. Here’s my son actually holding a crawdad!

And now our days of summer are coming to a rapid end…today I saw my office. Yes, that’s right, I said office. I am going back to work. Full time. Beginning Monday, August 25th.

15 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oh my, how I love coconut! Yum! I’m glad you’re back blogging (even just a little bit :)) and thanks for the shout out, you’re the best!

  2. Your sister is so gorgeous! It must run in the family. And Donner!!!!! I grew up in Reno, and trips to Donner and Tahoe were abundant in my childhood. and crawdad fishing! awww..Karen you brought back such sweet memories for me. I love the story of the Donner Party too….ok, love isn’t a good word for it, as it isn’t exactly a pleasant one, but I love the rich history of it.
    Ok, enough babbaling. I’m glad you are back…and where are you going back to work?

  3. I had given up checking this site! Glad you’ve been enjoying your summer. Love the photos!

  4. the pies look so yummy!!
    & the pics of your darling sis are so beautiful!!
    so happy that you & the fam could get away & make a memory…sounds like the kiddos had a blast!!

    ~michele

  5. I was hoping I’d look like that pregnant, but I’m finding that I’m growing sideways as well as on the front!

    I love the change of adding coconut milk in place of cream. This recipe sounds like a true winner!

  6. What a GREAT idea! I never would have thought of it, and yet, it makes sense to get MORE coconut flavor. The pies look wonderful.

    Btw, I love your photo banner–is that purees, like to add to foods? I love the concept but haven’t put it into practice yet.

    Also, this will be your “your so cool!” ego ride for the day, I really like the title of your blog. I’m big into “do better” or “better choices”. I’m not much of a “starting tomorrow I’m going to be perfect” person but I can really get behind the motto of “I’m a good person, a good cook, a good friend, a good wife, etc., and tomorrow, I’m going to do even better.”

    Great job!

  7. oh goodness. this sounds dynamite! toasted coconut inside and out? that’s all you had to say.🙂

  8. I have 4 little glass pie pans and I love them. Your right, a little dessert is just perfect. One you dont have to share.🙂
    Love the coconut cream pie. I’m still hooked on the mooless chocolate cream pie!!! I’ll put this one on the TO TRY list.
    Good luck at work. How do you full timers do it? part time kicks my butt!!!

  9. Yum! I’m quickly learning that all things coconut are amazing. Good luck going back to work–that will add a new dimension to your already amazing exploits.

  10. Great little pies! Sounds like you have been having a nice summer. Wow back to work. Yikes, I start in two weeks as well. Not full time though, not yet anyway! Hope you will still blog these great recipes.

  11. Good to have you back Karen, I am glad you had a good summer break – our weather here in Scotland has been wet, wet, wet! Those pies look tasty – I like to have a wee one all to myself, it makes you feel spoiled.
    I hope you enjoy going back to work.

  12. glad you are back. I love those little pie pans.

  13. Beautiful coconut pies! They look scrumptious!

    Good luck going back to work!

  14. your sister looks amazing! but you too were also very lovely preggars! back to work?! i’m sure you’ll be fabulous!

  15. Wow, do those look like amazing little pies! How did you get that crust to look so perfect? I’m horrible with crusts. Hope you’ve been having a fun summer!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

