Snickerdoodles

September 2, 2008 at 10:26 pm | Posted in Dessert | 14 Comments
Tags: , ,

I’m a full time working mom and am still enjoying my baking!  Okay, maybe the blogging has dropped off a bit, and exercising…but I’m doing my best.  And I don’t even know how to “do better” at the moment.  All I know is one day at a time.

So today I managed to work a full day, relish my kids’ first day of kindergarten, get them to soccer practice, and still have time to make cookies!  (Yes, I have a great hubby who helps out a lot).

Snickerdoodles (because kids should have milk and cookies waiting for them at home, right M?)

  • 1/2 cup butter at room temp
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp cream of tartar
  • 2 Tbsp sugar
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon

In a mixing bowl beat butter until creamy.  Add about half of the flour, the 1 cup of sugar, the egg, vanilla, baking soda, and cream of tartar.  Beat until combined.  Beat in remaining flour.  Scoop batter onto plastic wrap.  Shape into a long log.  Refrigerate for 1 hour.  Cut pieces.  Roll pieces into circles.  Combine the 2 Tbsp sugar and cinnamon.  Roll the balls in the cinnamon-sugar mixture.  Bake at 375 degrees for 10 minutes.  Cool on a wire rack.  Makes about 2 dozen.

From Better Homes and Gardens New Cookbook c. 1989

Today I slipped a little note card into their lunchboxes.  Tomorrow my kids will have some homemade cookies.  I’d say that’s doing better!

Here’s a photo from this morning.  I am fortunate to be working at the private school that my kids are attending.  The elementary and secondary students share a campus, so my office is a stones-throw away from the kindergarten wing.

If there is an ideal for me to go back to work full time, this is it.  I am doing teacher support.  It’s my dream job.  I am loving it.

14 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. So glad you’re liking your work, it makes it so much easier…plus it’s fabulous that you’re so close to your children! We LOVE snickerdoodles at our house, thanks for the inspiration!

    Take care,
    Steph

  2. Great family photo! I’m so happy you’re able to work where your kids go to school! That’s wonderful for you!

    Great looking cookies too! I haven’t had a yummy snickerdoodle in a loooong time!

  3. ok, how precious are your kids with their little uniforms and missing teeth!

  4. aw, cute kiddos!

    and by the way, everyone should have milk and cookies waiting for them at home.🙂

  5. Well done you and good luck with the job!

    Your son looks exactly like you😉

  6. Yum! They look great! Take it easy and don’t beat yourself up, you’re doing great! And you’re a great mom🙂

  7. the little ones starting kinder-so sweet!
    congrats on finding your dream job!
    life is good!

  8. Cute entry! I am glad J & H had some cookies and milk waiting for them the first week of school. Work will not keep you from being the loving, doting, fun mom that you are.

  9. Great news for you! You all look so happy in your photo. Good luck for the semister ahead!

  10. My absolute fave!!!!!! (I’m sure you saw my post on Snickerdoodle Ice Cream, right?)

    Have a great school year🙂

  11. I’m impressed by full-time working moms. I work full time, and can barely keep up with my life without kids! I don’t know how I’m going to do it when my little one comes. Snickerdoodles are one of my favorites – I need to make some!

  12. I am impressed that you are making cookies and working full time. THese look great. And BTW, I tagged you with a meme. Feel free to disregard.

  13. I have been thinking about snickerdoodles myself lately. I’ll probably be making them for our seminar day soon!

    Isn’t it great working where your kids are? I did that with my oldest – he went to college where I worked, so it was like he never went away from home!

  14. Working at a school is perfect. Nights, weekends and holidays off with the kiddos!!! Sounds like your doing good. But I miss you around the blogsphere.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

